I'm Sorry, Mister Williams Junior in poetry

  • Sept. 5, 2023, 11:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m sorry, Mister Williams Junior
I am indeed not ready for some football
I am in no shape for any sort of Monday night party
It has been a really long day of work and
Tomorrow will be an even longer one, sir
I’m in no condition to get the good times started
Yes, the teams are on the field and
Yes, I’ve certainly turned down the lights
But watching young men of color suffer traumatic brain damage
For the amusement of billionaire owners in the nice seats
Is the exact opposite of what will help me fall asleep
For another day of working for a living
That’s just sad
I’d just have nightmares about it
I’m sorry, I just can’t say I’m ready for any of that

I’m sorry, Mister Williams Junior
Not everybody is actually a fan
I understand that you have
Frank and Al and Dan
But that’s just not enough
To make me want to see this
Depressing thing they all
Got started

I’m sorry, Mister Williams Junior
Week after week, the time is never right
One of the last places I would ever want to be
One of the last groups of people I’d care to see
Would be all your rowdy friends
Who are here on Monday night
I’m just gonna take six benadryls and
Watch some youtube until I fall asleep
I don’t mean to disappoint you, Mister Williams Junior
But it just isn’t my scene
I understand that you’re
Really enthusiastic about this whole thing
But it would just ruin my evening
I’m sorry, Mister Williams Junior
I’m sorry, I’m sorry, I’m sorry


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.