Day 1 in Since OD is shutting down....

  • Sept. 1, 2023, 7:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I made breakfast before I got my kid to school. I showered yesterday so I didn’t have to this morning. I got her to school, drank some coffee and got myself over there. It was pretty boring and the time didn’t drag like I thought it would. My back was fucking killing me and I told my caseworker that I don’t know if I’m going to be able to handle 30 hours a week. She went with me and I made an appointment for the other place for next Thursday. There’s a place that helps with disability and I’m gonna go there Tuesday morning.

They did help with some gas and I got to put money in the bank tomorrow to cover my insurance and internet. I’m going to try really hard to not spend anything over the weekend. The good news is that my 25 day probationary period started the day I applied so I only have 2 more weeks to wait for money. I should also receive a stipend of $75 on the 15th. Tomorrow we get to leave at noon because it’s early release so I’ll probably go to the bank before I pick up my kid from school. We need to get groceries but I don’t know if we’ll go tomorrow or later because I don’t have much on the food budget and it has to last for about 9 more days.

I’m definitely glad to get the day over with. I did call the other after school program and to no surprise, they don’t have any open spots. Not a big shocker on that but I’m still holding onto hope that they’ll call and be able to get her in at her school. I know that it probably won’t happen but I’m not giving up just yet. I’m going to be pretty devastated if that doesn’t happen because that means I won’t have any free time whatsoever.

As much as all this sucks, I’m going to do what I can to get myself a job and climb out of this awful situation. The place I have an appointment with on Thursday helps people with jobs that have disabilities and schedule issues. I’m so ready to get my life figured out and I am happy to know that I won’t just sit here by myself anymore while my child is at school.


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.