Summertime, and the living's easy in anticlimatic

  • Aug. 21, 2023, midnight
  • |
  • Public

I feel very lonesome without the company of people that only exist in my imagination.

I like people, as a concept. I like myself in similar regard. But in practice? I feel like anytime I get the chance to interact, my mouth opens and only a controlled inauthentic grease spills forth whose purpose is to simply slide the person in front of me out of my way. What is that? Why don’t I take more time to regard people, to ask them questions, to open up some?

I don’t trust them. Not family, not stranger. Or perhaps, and more likely, I don’t trust myself to be normal. What unearned arrogance I used to have regarding any knowledge or wisdom on how the world, or people worked- how the future would play out.

There are some people I trust and feel comfortable opening up to, but they are extremely few and far between, mostly Gen-X, and I just never encounter people in the wild anymore.

They never tell you that somewhere in your 30s you drift into outer space. The tracks that had carried you, as a group, with most of your peers of a similar age, gives way. The paths diverge. Children happen. One by one a new family tree is planted somewhere, fenced off from the rest of the group. Until it’s the whole group, growing their own new worlds now rather than share the old.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.