I Finally Told Hubby in Me Being Me

Revised: 08/18/2023 10:18 p.m.

  • Aug. 18, 2023, 4:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I talked to my doctor yesterday and I have officially been diagnosed with IBS D so now I know what I have and I don’t have to guess and say I am not sure. The doctor said there is this diet I can go on for a month to see how it works so today I will be calling the dietition to get the diet sent to me via snail mail. And I asked the doctor if the mold could have triggered the IBS or the stress of things not being fixed. Although doctors really don’t know why people get IBS but he did say these things could have triggered it.
So when hubby got home from work I told him I have finally been diagnosed and he said he was sorry, because he has seen what it does to me. And I told him that everything needs to be fixed here and that I will just get sicker if they don’t. So he said he will start with the small things like the water pressure and the toilet seat being tightened and new screws so they are not stipped. I also told him that if they don’t get fixed I will be reporting her to the rental people and she won’t be able to eveict me and she will be forced to fix things no matter what it costs.
So I am thinking that very soon he will be talking to her and getting something fixed. Even if she fixes something small I figure it’s a start. And then I won’t get so stressed and wonder if I will get sicker or if I get evicted. And she will be stopping telling me that because it’s against the law. I have no issue for being evicted but it has to be according to the law and then I will go. But just to tell me I will be evicted because I report her or have someone come in and do an estimate and then fix something she can’t do that. And also I can give her a time line to get things fixed and if she doesn’t then I can and will report her. I am so tired of her broken threats. And if she needs more money then she needs to get a job that pays or raise the rent. But because she didn’t raise the rent for the first 5 years we were here she could have raised it to whatever she wanted but she didn’t and now she can only raise it 2%. And I also told hubby that we are paying 13% of the carbon tax and that is ileagle and it has to be written on a lease so I bitched to hubby that I want to sign a lease and I want to see the numbers for the carbon tax and how much they went up over the years. I just want to live her knowing that when something needs to be repalced or fixed that it will get done so I can be happy and not stressed out.
I asked hubby why is it she can tell me no for everything that I have wanted over the years like my son to be living here and for me to get a pet and for me to have heat? My brother told me that he has no say of how many people are in his rental units as long as the rent is paid. There is nothing he can do. So my son not living with me so he has a stable home told me she wanted him to be homeless. And me unhappy.
In all the years I have rented any place I have nhever ever had a landlord that never fixed anything. And two places I have lived they came and did yearly inspections and at one time replaced everything. The stove, the fridge, the water tank the carpet and the drapes the sink the counter and the kitchen floor. Not because there was anyting wrong with them really but they just needed to be upgraded to more efficaint products. The only reason I moved out of those places was because my son became an adult and we were moving to a condo. And then I met hubby and we moved to an apartment in another city and then here because his mom died and his brother needed someone to share the rent. And we have been here ever since. And for the first few years after his brother moved out the slumlord did fix things and we had a great relationship because she actually listened to me and did fix the issue. But now for some reason she doesn’t listen to me and always tells me I have no idea of what I am talikng about. But the turth is that I have looked on line and found what I think is wrong and I figure it’s a place to start but she never does that. Instead she wastes more time looking for the issue and usually never finds it and then tells me there is nothing to fix. And then later it gets worse. And then I get blamed for it. And told the next time this happenes I will get evicted. Like I can understand that if I dumped the greese that is in the oans after I cook and dump it down the drain in the kitchen that would be my thing to fix but she won’t let me fix it. But then I have asked her if I can look iside the pipe and see if I can clean it out and she said no so because of that I will get evicted the next time the pipe clogs and it won’t be my fault becasue I try to get rid of as much grease as I can but I notice that when water is added to the pan that there is still grease and there is nothing I can do to get rid of it so I am worried that the drain will clogg again.
You know I have done everything she has told me to do all these years and then I have to listen to her threats if I do something wrong like not have LED lights. If her gas and electricity costs so much then why not get more energy efficiant appliences and power smart and get re-bates from companies so she will save half the money she spends? I know I don’t have much money but I would get the best appliences that I can afford and she could do that also.

Onto something else…

So today is Friday and it’s left over Friday and I get to go to bed early becasue hubby needs to get up at 5:50 am and I wake him up so I can soend that time with him before he goes to work and then after he leaves I go for a nap and then I am good to go.
And then one more day of work then the weekend for hubby. Not sure whatt we are going to do, but hubby did say he wants to take me out for dinner or we can order in but I have to eat more then I have been.

Onto something else…

I have noticed that since I got this IBS I don’t eat much and what I do eat I only eat about half because I don’t want to upset my stomach and have to run to the bathroom. And hubby thinks I am not eating enough but I am afraid to tell him the real reason so I just say I have had enough and leave it at that. And I am eating a lot less junk like chips and peanuts and chocolate so that is good.

Onto something else…

Well I need to stop here....
Sorry for all the bitching but I am just sick and tired of being sick everyday and not happy. But I needed to get this out so I have a record of this. And thank you for reading me.
Do have a great day…
Be Kind, Be calm, Be Safe and Behave.


Last updated August 18, 2023


Asenath Waite August 18, 2023

I've had IBS since I was a kid. You can live with it. You just have to learn what upsets your digestive tract, and avoid those things. Spicy food, and greasy food are bad news.

Jodie Asenath Waite ⋅ August 18, 2023

Which one do you have? And I don't like spicy food and I haven't eaten anything fried in a long long time so that is two things I don't deal with. Have you ever her of the FODMAP diet?

Asenath Waite Jodie ⋅ August 19, 2023

Fascinating. I had to Google FODMAP. Turns out I've been eating that way on my own, just by avoiding foods that bother me. I have IBS-C. Almond milk gives me cramps, presumably from the fiber, so I use filtered, lactose free regular milk. I get gluten free bread and pasta. The other day I learned the hard way that I can't eat Bob Evans sausage.

No gluten, no lactose, nothing even vaguely spicy, no low quality ground beef, no shellfish, bean-o with any beans. And oddly no Hamburger Helper or Pizza Rolls, some additive in them gives me cramps.

Jodie Asenath Waite ⋅ August 19, 2023

I will buy a roast beef and cut all the fat off and then ground itinto ground beef then that way it's extra lean and any food that comes in a box I stay away from because it's always too salty and I try to saty away from really greasy foods like fast food and processed stuff like meat. So far I find that there isn't much that makes my stomach hurt so I want to try this diet for about a month and see how it goes.

Asenath Waite Jodie ⋅ August 19, 2023

Good plan. Just going gluten free helped me immensely. If you're gluten intolerant, then it also causes inflammation, as in worsening arthritis. So it may have more benefits for you than just your stomach. :)

Jodie Asenath Waite ⋅ August 19, 2023

I don't eat much bread anyways and it's not an issue for me. I can basically eat anything and if I do get a reaction I can never figure out what it is because it can take a whole other day for me to see what has happened.

Asenath Waite Jodie ⋅ August 19, 2023

I'm not a big bread eater either. I figured out the gluten intolerance when I found out that most people don't get gas from spaghetti/pasta. If pasta gives you gas, that's gluten. If not, you're probably okay there.

Jodie Asenath Waite ⋅ August 19, 2023

thanks so far so good no issues.

Nocturne August 19, 2023

I have IBS too. I hate giving up foods that I love. So, I suffer but idgaf,

theKat August 19, 2023

I have it on occasion... greasy food bother me

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.