Culture Shock in Current Events

  • Aug. 15, 2023, 9:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today was my second day at my new workplace. I’m really starting to see how vastly different the culture is between stores. “We’re more relaxed here.” That is what they all say. That’s soft speak for “nobody cares here.” I suppose this means that I am uptight because I give a shit.

The store I come from is the most successful. This is because my team is allowed to grow there. We were the head of game there. The pleasure and the pain. At this location, we are walked all over. The store calls all of the shots. We are getting ready for inventory and the store is failing miserably. Everywhere. I brought up some safety concerns to my supervisor and she basically explained that she tries to keep her presence as small as possible as to not step on any toes. The store also doesn’t have a manager at the moment. I hope the new one gives a shit. This is the location with the worst reputation and it call came from the previous manager. The regional manager seems to call all the shots here as well. She’s an overgrown worm who hates what my team does.

This is just a temp position, I’m going to lay low this time. However, we’re all confident it will become permanent because that’s just how it goes. I was hired as a temp at the last location as well. I am blowing my new supervisor away. Everybody is really starting to like me already. I had a moment where I realized I was experiencing culture shock and that my fantasy of how it was going to go was shattered. I felt a little down but I’ll get over it.

Mercury must really be stationing retrograde. I am having problems with my internet at home. My phone altogether is slowing down as well. My oscillating fan stopped working over the weekend and I finally just replaced it. I need the white noise. All I had was crickets, obnoxious traffic, birds and crackheads to listen to. The crackhead upstairs. She is restless day and night. All I can hear is her walking. My mind goes to a dark place about her and I need to remind myself that she is a human being doing her best. Whatever her circumstances are. The consequences will catch up with her eventually. I just feel extra concerned because new neighbours just moved across the hall and they have little children.

When Mercury goes retrograde that will be 5 planets in retrograde. Also the North Node. I like retrogrades. Whenever they’re all direct things feel stagnant when all I want to do is grow. Speaking of growing, that ancient crush responded to my DM that I sent him a couple of weeks ago. No biggy. I feel nothing inside about it which is exactly where I want to be.

The stars were supposed to be on my side this year. I’m a Taurus rising, Taurus is the main character this year for character development. A lot of that action is happening in the 10th house, career. My degree is late so I was to receive these later. It looks like it delivered. It won’t last long. My 6H & 8H stelliums make my chart dark and full of terrors. Death and rebirth. Death and rebirth.

Tomorrow is another day. We shall see how it goes. I’m trying to get the hang of doing things their way. I don’t know my way around the store at all.


Nocturne August 16, 2023

Stay with it -- at least for awhile. I would have run, but you have that Taurean sturdiness to you. I have a shit ton of fire signs in my chart, all 3 tbe. I have Sagittarius (hence the fleeing of the pressure?) as my ascendant and moon, and then I have showboating Leo as my Mars and in House 5 at 21 degrees I have Aries... and to put the cherry on top, in House 12 at 13.9 degrees is Scorpio... so add to THAT my Cancer sun... by gosh I am the original oxymoron. :P

TL Nocturne ⋅ August 16, 2023

lol fire and water. A fun mix. I'm a Capricorn. My chart is half earth and half water. My chart's signature is fixed earth. My Sun is in the 9H, I think that is the most fire that I have. I think that's where my big personality comes from. My 9H is in Capricorn so my dry wit makes up most of my personality.

Nocturne TL ⋅ August 16, 2023

It's fun and games until you get on my bad side. :P

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.