Pumpkin spice bread in Tales from the kitchen witch

  • Aug. 12, 2023, 7:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Everyone has fallen in love with my pumpkin spice bread. I dont mean my family, I mean everyone at work too haha. This is my go to, especially when im stressed and things are just falling apart. One of the things I do is do try to feel better and make something go right… So I bake… I know baking is a “science” and should be measured exactly.... But im kinda a wing it and oops that was too much kind of girl and things seem to still work out… BUT I do follow recipes haha.
Shocker, This recipe is not doubled or tripled… Its for one, single sad little loaf. For all you normal people who dont feed 7 people and growing boys.

Ingredients
2 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ginger
15 ounces pumpkin puree make sure you are buying 100% pumpkin puree and not pumpkin pie filing
1 cup granulated sugar
8 tablespoons butter melted and slightly cooled
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Instructions
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and spray a 9 inch loaf pan with cooking spray. Set the pan aside. ( I prefer to use disposable tin pans or glass pans lined with parchment paper)
In a large bowl whisk together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, salt, nutmeg, and ginger.
In a smaller bowl mix together the pumpkin, sugar, butter, eggs, and vanilla extract. Gently fold the pumpkin mixture into the dry ingredients until just combined.
Pour the batter into the prepared baking dish.
Bake the bread for 50-60 minutes or until a toothpick stuck in the center of the bread comes out clean.

My optional add ins.

Shred 1 cup of zucchini per loaf. Zucchini is VERY wet. I shred it then squeeze the liquid out over the sink. Yeah I wring out the zucchini! Then i roll it in some paper towels to try to extract more liquid. Mix into the batter prior to cooking. I tend to pour my batter in my bread pans and then fold in my toppings IN the pan.

Apples.
Peel, core and cube 2 apples per loaf pan. I like to slice them into good size slices ( about 8 per apple) then slice into chunks. I feed the peels and cores to the chickens. Fold into the batter prior to baking. Pick a tart firm apple. Granny smith are my favorite, cosmic crisps are another really awesome one for baking. Fuji and Gala are often too sweet and loose their flavor and texture while baking.

Adding in zucchini or apples will make your bread extra moist as well.

I have a tendency to “over spice” my pumpkin bread. I happen to LOVE the spices for pumpkin spice. So I give it a bit of extra and sprinkle more on top :)


Jinn August 12, 2023

Thanks! I am going to try this !

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ August 12, 2023

Mine turned out a hair dry this time. I made it plain this time. The zucchini really helps with the moisture!

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ August 12, 2023

I wonder how it would be with raisins in it ?

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ August 12, 2023

i bet pretty good!
I love to pair it with a spiced cream cheese frosting.

Cream cheese
vanilla
powdered sugar
and pumpkin pie spices ( optional) blend till mixed. Add some melted butter if you need it thinner.

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ August 13, 2023

Thanks! :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.