Cold Black Heart in Hello

  • Aug. 8, 2023, 5:28 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Found out my cousin Brad (42) died in a motorcycle accident back in late July. I have no remorse, only relief. Dead beat dad, drug user/pusher, bad kid all throughout his life, in and out of jail. We attended the same elementary school and I know damn well some of those teachers wanted to slap the shit out of him for back talking.

What made him dead to me…
Back in 2019 his older brother committed suicide and the next day his mom (who was like a sister to my mom and aunt’s daughter) died of an aneurysm. My great uncle (mom and aunt’s older uncle by a few years) couldn’t get Brad to wake up for their funeral cause he was too fucked up. Anita (his mom) was a sweetheart and always had kind words for me.

So yeah, fuck him and good riddance.
You won’t be missed.

Only sad part is Anita, her husband and all three of her children are now dead. Her daughter had health issues and bit the bullet in ‘99. Her husband was a firefighter (and heavy smoker.) He dropped from a heart attack back in ‘97 while on the job. They carried his casket on the fire engine to the cemetery while his firefighting brothers laid him to rest.

I didn’t mean for this to get dark but I’ve been thinking about since I learned of Brad’s passing last night.


Sleepy-Eyed John August 08, 2023

Ya. I understand. I try to avoid having a cold black heart, because it scares me, but I often feel that way myself.

Jodie August 08, 2023

I have relitives that if they died I would't care so I understand what you are saying.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.