untitled in Diary

  • Aug. 21, 2014, 2:05 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The temporary job went okay, today. It certainly wasn't great. And the people working there were...I don't even know how to describe them. Unemployable, perhaps, is the best way to put it. There are a few nice people working at the place, don't get me wrong, but even they are a bit north of the land of the sane. Most of them, at least.

I spent all day standing around listening to this guy who was "coaching" me talk endlessly about this book he's been working on for who knows how long. He had lots of ideas, some of them good, some crazy ridiculous and cliche, but I still enjoyed listening to him talk about writing for the first 3 hours or so of the day. When I asked him how much he'd written once he had spoken at length about his book, he told me he had a chapter and a half. I don't know, man. There's nothing wrong with having lots of ideas, but if it were me, if I had hours worth of characterization and plot floating around in my head, I'd kill myself if I didn't write it all down.

Not like I'm much better. It's taken me a long time to get 19 & 1/2 chapters written. But, to be fair to myself, I've dragged my story out like this not because I write slowly, but because I stopped writing for months at a time, 2 or 3 different times. Meh. Anyway. I'm not trying to make this guy look bad, or put him down. He just sort of drove me crazy. It's the constant talking that drove me up the wall more than anything.

Speaking of writing, I made myself write another little scene tonight after I got back from work and had a bite to eat. The end of the chapter is in sight, not too far off. I can't tell you how much I'm looking forward to being done with chapter 20. Hopefully I will get my flow back sometime soon and start tearing through the last part of the story. Whenever I print out a finished chapter and hold it in my hands, I feel so satisfied. Anyway.

Blah blah. I listened to the Dirty Three's Ocean Songs album while I wrote. The music helped a lot. If any of you guys read this and you haven't heard of that band, you should go check them out on youtube. Their music is emotional, relaxing...instrumental, which I like. It's a violin, electric guitar, and drum band.

I guess that sums it up pretty well. It's midnight. I'm getting a little tired. Time for a few shots (but not too many) and some Alison Rosen podcast, and then I suppose I'll call it a day. Tomorrow I have to figure out what I'm going to wear for the interview, so I won't stay up too late or drink too much. That way I can go out and buy some pants if I need to before I go on the long commute. I really need this job! I know I said that yesterday, but it's true. Seriously, especially after working with a bunch of difficult people at a s* job all day, I want it all the more. Wish me luck. I may need it. Take care.


ElvenAssassin August 21, 2014

Hourray for money! I've only got a few paragraphs written "officially" for The Book, but I can say I've got The Plot written down on paper... er, metaphorically speaking (I should probably write it down somewhere, also)

Carmen the Vampire ElvenAssassin ⋅ August 21, 2014

Cool! Having the plot all thought out is a great accomplishment. For some reason, I have trouble doing that sort of thing. I can plot out a chapter at a time, sort of. :O But as far as overall plots are concerned, I'm at a total loss. And I agree, money is good. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.