All Done in Everyday Ramblings

  • Aug. 6, 2023, 12:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Love the color and the low light here from this morning. We even had enough rain to wet the ground a bit (after I took this shot) for the first time since June.

Thursday afternoon I got the email I dreaded asking for the storage room key back. All my books were over there, the non-essential kitchen stuff, the gardening things and just general back of closet things. This was right before I was teaching my free weight/resistance band class that I re-instituted last month.

I had been taking the week easy. Enjoying the free space and closets with a very deliberate choice of things in them. Not stuff packed in there I didn’t know what to do with.

The level of anxiety about this tail end of the displacement event was high.

It is not that I hadn’t thought about this, but this is a long-term project. My guess is it is going to take me six months to get the shelves cleaned and papered and stuff stored in the kitchen not to mention just plain all the getting rid of extraneous stuff that one accumulates in a lifetime.

Which, thanks to the generous good graces of Most Honorable, his borrowed hand truck and a lot of work on my part Friday and yesterday is now sitting in my living area. Except the books. They are all shelved in the bedroom.

Granted, they are mostly in there, higgledy-piggledy, disorganized, upright, and not in any order. The bird books with the poetry books, with the gardening and cook books. I can see them all. The bedroom is my oasis for now. The only box is one of random shoes.

This episode in my life is done, done, done. It is over, I am fully in and decidedly home. There are no painters, roofers, landscapers, contractors, or permit givers around. It was nine full months of all of that. Whew.

In other good news, what I hope is my final crown for a good long while is being made and I get that put in week after next. Goodbye $1,860.00. No more gap in the side of my smile.

And I had a virtual appointment follow-up with my cardiologist (I swear he was talking to me from his sauna, good for sound quality) and I am thrilled to know that I can stop taking the blood thinner. Goodbye visible bruises all over my arms and legs. He says he has a much clearer picture of what is going on with my heart and the medications I am on should manage the problem. Another virtual follow-up six months. Yay!

Next week I have a board meeting with my arts and entertainment nonprofit, Walt’s group and the following week, a board retreat for the Portland League of Women Voter’s. I am not on that board but because I am the budget director person I have been invited. I am kind of attached to the board.

Walt asked me for a poem on Thursday night and I revised one I had from one of the chapbooks that I had out from the moving. I can do that a lot easier than writing a new one.

Even though it was humid, and I was exhausted yesterday afternoon, I went to my first of three PT appointments. Boy, was I dragging my tail feathers and I told the therapist that. It was air conditioned at the clinic, so I didn’t mind too much. Humid is unusual for us here. I told him I felt a bit sheepish taking an appointment when I wasn’t in pain, but he said he was happy I was there. That they can do a lot to prevent future pain, and oh baby, am I good for that.

More birds are finding the feeder. Today I had Chestnut-backed chickadees as well as the Black-capped. And the Lesser Goldfinches are back. A number of them are molting and it is a motley crew, but I am happy to see them exactly as they are.

I feel so grateful this morning for many things. First and foremost, that I had a home to come back to. Full of extraneous stuff as it is.


Last updated August 06, 2023


Deleted user August 06, 2023

It was nine full months of all of that.

Congratulations! It's an apartment! 😁

mcbee August 07, 2023

So wonderful!!

Zipster August 10, 2023

This moving back in is so much more than that. I don't know how you keep your energy up. Yay for good news and less meds on the heart front. I have a crow feeding station and a hanging bird feeder. Something larger and with more teeth was decimating the peanut shells on the crow feeder. Put out the camera to discover a rat/possum duo doing the damage. Will hence forth shut down operations before dark.

noko Zipster ⋅ August 10, 2023

Yeah, it is sad but I bring my feeder in at dusk every night. Although I did just see the raccoon family troop through in the middle of the day. They had places to go and didn't stop though.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.