Retiring Psychology in anticlimatic

  • Aug. 5, 2023, 12:17 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Noted an interesting transition in my interests and motivations over the last few years just the other day- I am much less curious and captivated with human psychology, of any sort. I have an endless lingering desire to be part of groups of friends and small communities- I feel some degree of low key envy anytime I float past a group of folks at a party, or a bonfire, or just sitting on a porch. I wish I knew everyone and could contribute something positive to their lives. All that I yet retain, but any interest in what people are thinking and why seems to have evaporated. Conceptually, I don’t care, where before I used to speculate endlessly- running models and generating sub theories in my imagination just to pass the time. Even on a personal level, I don’t feel curious about a person’s motivations like I once used to. I’m not interested in “figuring anyone out.” I just want to share warm feelings, appreciation for the privilege of interacting, and novel cozy beautiful aesthetic experiences. Palpable, visceral experience seems to have replaced human nature as a primary curiosity and motivator. Everything I’m afraid of feels like it’s pulling me towards it.


Sleepy-Eyed John August 05, 2023

I'm the opposite now.

What tricks did you learn? What did you learn?

anticlimatic Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ August 05, 2023 (edited August 05, 2023)

Edited

My biggest struggle was not hating people or judging them for being idiots, but I started seeing people as just damaged children who weren't permitted to grow out of it because good mental health is not really a natural state.

*edited to add: this generates sympathy and compassion which helps me empathize with them, even though I might rather not.

Sleepy-Eyed John anticlimatic ⋅ August 05, 2023

Ya I understand that

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.