Voila in Current Events

  • Aug. 2, 2023, 9:54 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I did end up splurging in celebration of acquiring a second job. I did buy a massive plant for the apartment. I also found that upholstery pouf I passed up. There were a couple of things on clearance that I liked as well. Then I found a bunch of “superfoods” there as well that were priced well. Seamoss was one of them. I grabbed everything off the shelf. It is very expensive but they were selling it very cheap. I’m a little pumped about that one. I’ll probably go out and window shop some more today.

I haven’t spoken with my new supervisor since her voicemail yesterday. I was asked to apply for it again. She sent an e-mail. Done! I thought she was hiring for multiple candidates but it was for just one. The position is for replenishing stock but if I cross-train I can get more hours and work other areas in the store.

Today I wait for her to call me so we can discuss a few more things. I am still aiming to try and balance both jobs. This is a problem I would rather have. I would prefer to not have to choose between the two. I am also expecting to hear back about a temp full-time position this week.

Boring entry! Voila!


woman in the moon August 02, 2023

Good luck with both jobs.

TL woman in the moon ⋅ August 03, 2023

Thank you!

Nocturne August 02, 2023

Tommy, you are like me, a shopaholic!!! LOL!

TL Nocturne ⋅ August 03, 2023

I need intervention

Nocturne TL ⋅ August 04, 2023

LMAO me too!!! 🤣🤣🤣

Zampano August 03, 2023

Boring is good: no news is good news.

Congrats on the second job. As much as I am against Workaholism, I honestly believe the sum of the two parts are not equal to the whole. Meaning that at least in America, our generation was screwed. We are the first generation expected to be less well off than our parents. And literally having two jobs is thee only way to have a descent quality of life (if you don't allow the workaholism to take over every aspect of your identity).

TL Zampano ⋅ August 03, 2023

I had that existential crisis when I lost my job of 13 years in 2019. That place defined me for 13 years. I took some time off to do some serious soul-searching. Everything changed because I changed after that.

Zampano TL ⋅ August 03, 2023 (edited August 03, 2023)

Edited

Edward Norton in Fight Club. Meet Tyler Durden. I am Jack's inflamed liver. The things you own end up owning you.

TL Zampano ⋅ August 03, 2023

That's what it felt like. It was never about the content it was always about the context, I discovered. I had purged most of my possessions at that time in my life. Some of the happiest people in the world have nothing. If I could live out of a van, I would.

Zampano TL ⋅ August 04, 2023 (edited August 04, 2023)

Edited

Ah, yes. The journey to Buddhist Enlightenment. I believe I've mentioned the Siddhartha Documentary before and the novel Siddhartha by Herman Hesse, The Alchemist and American Beat Literature. Jack Kerouac was born to French Canadian parents and gives a modern, North American version of Buddhism. Slightly darker but paving the way for Buddhism and SpaceShips.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.