Day 2. Today. in Diary

  • Aug. 19, 2014, 11:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Last night I didn't get enough sleep. Again. Several days in a row I've woken up after getting between four and five hours sleep and haven't been able to go back to sleep. My brain feels...fried, I guess is the way to put it. You know how it is when you're short on sleep for more than a day or two, I'm sure.

Although I didn't get a whole lot written, once again, I sat down and hammered out another several paragraphs. Well, maybe not hammered out. More like hunted and pecked. I referenced previous chapters over every little thing, even checking to see how many times I've used the word "suddenly". Everything always seems to want to happen suddenly when I write. But since I've been so aware of my tendency to overuse that word since I started this thing, I've tried not to overuse it. As of today, it's in there 39 times. Kind of a lot. But oh well, I can fix that later.

One phrase I want to use all the time is "wave of __". Here are all the different versions of that I've used so far (Feel free to laugh. Or groan. I did.): Wave of mental blackness, wave of fiery red light, wave of arrows, wave of panic, wave of pain, wave of shock, wave of relief, wave of emotion, and another wave of pain. Heh. But thanks to the glorious powers of Microsoft Word, it will be easy to eliminate most of those. I'll probably keep wave of fiery red light and wave of panic. And, to be fair, the fiery red light one refers to the shape of an actual wave, not an imaginary one.

So that's that. Tomorrow I'm going in to my temp gig at 1:30pm. I'm hoping the job is bearable. The day after, I have that call center interview I've mentioned in the past few entries. If I can get that job, boy that would sure be great. The location of the building is not ideal whatsoever considering where I'm living now, but the job itself will practically save my life. I'll be able to get my own place, have insurance, and keep my remaining savings intact. So I'm really crossing my fingers on that one. The problem of not having had a job for so long is the main worry I have. I feel like I usually do quite well in interviews.

This has been a rather pointless, boring entry, but I think this is where I'll leave it. Take care.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.