The pump-up email from my law school before the bar exam in My life

  • July 21, 2023, 9:09 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

All of this from a single paragraph:

“Every decision you’ve made up to this point in your life has led you to this exam.” Now you’re making me question myself and every single one of my life choices… AGAIN!!!

“Take a moment to reflect on how far you’ve come and what a privilege it is to be blessed with the intellectual capacity, focus, and determination that makes lawyering a good match to your strengths.” Upon reflection, lawyering is not a good match to my strengths.

“Think of this licensing exam as a culmination and celebration of your investment in yourself and law school these last three years.” An investment? Then I have wasted all my resources.

“You are about to be a licensed attorney.” Maybe. Maybe not. In either case, shudder


Starhawk July 21, 2023

Dissecting their presentation and arguing each point in turn. Just like a lawyer.

JustSurviveSomehow Starhawk ⋅ July 21, 2023

What he/she said! ^^^
You got this!

sadandlonelygirl JustSurviveSomehow ⋅ July 22, 2023 (edited July 22, 2023)

Edited

Aw thank you!!
The best thing about this whole endeavor is that I get to say "I rest my case!" to my partner every time I (thought I) won an argument!

Only to have him plead the 5th on me every time I ask curious questions about his exes. :/

sadandlonelygirl Starhawk ⋅ July 22, 2023

Aww thank you so much for noticing!! I definitely love dissecting arguments and making counter arguments enough so I thought law school would be a good fit at first. But sadly there are other lawyerly skills that I have a hard time cultivating, such as public speaking, speaking with authority, being emotionally persuasive in writing, dressing professionally, networking like crazy, withstanding intense conflict and competition, and most importantly, having a passion for the law! :')

Sorry for my anxiety-inducing rambling haha. I appreciate your encouragement!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.