2 weeks until the bar exam in My life

  • July 9, 2023, 6:49 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have to tell myself that I’m not doing this because I love it. I’m doing it because I absolutely hate, abhor, despise, detest this and I just want to be DONE!

I guess there are worse things to go through than having to take the bar exam. Sigh. And in any case, we have to make the best of the situation that we’re in and strive to do the right thing in whatever circumstances that we find ourselves in. That’s the lesson of this episode of VeggieTales called “Joseph and his Coat of Veggie Colors,” inspired by the story of Old Testament Joseph.

I came to know about VeggieTales at the old age of 30 but I fell in love. My kids are going to watch VeggieTales.

Bar exam studying is a lesson in grinding your way through to… I don’t know what. The process is: Start at zero –> Grind –> Find out I’m not good enough –> Grind some more –> Find out I’m still not good enough –> Annoyance –> Grind some more –> Find out I’m still not good enough –> Panic –> Grind some more –> Find out I’m still not good enough –> EXTREME QUESTIONING-THE-WHOLE-POINT-OF-MY-EXISTENCE PANIC –> Grind some more –> Find out I’m still not good enough –> Acceptance that there’s nothing else I could do but grinding and maybe I could at least maintain where I’m at and maybe get lucky? –> Grind some more –> Find out I’m still not good enough –> EXAM DAY.

You know, at least I could work in my favorite green, blue, and yellow PJ and pink sweatshirt, which make me look like a cake.


JustSurviveSomehow July 09, 2023

Sounds super stressful! We don't have to take the bar in my state if you went to an in state school, so this is something I haven't heard much about from the people that I work with. Best of luck to you!

sadandlonelygirl JustSurviveSomehow ⋅ July 11, 2023

Thank you very much! Yeah I don't get why the bar exam is even necessary. I'm pretty sure the lawyers at your firm haven't missed out on anything except just one more thing to commiserate with each other about XD.

JustSurviveSomehow sadandlonelygirl ⋅ July 11, 2023

Ha! My boss actually went to an out of state school and he likes to mention that he had to pass three bar exams in three different states, but that most of the attorneys at our firm haven't even had to take one. Not gonna lie, I'd hold that over people's heads too!

sadandlonelygirl JustSurviveSomehow ⋅ July 16, 2023

Oh my gosh I cannot imagine doing it three times! Coincidentally my old lawyer boss before law school also passed three bar exams in three different states, and of course made sure to mention it on his website XD. Luckily these days about 36 states (among the ones that actually require the bar exam) are using the same bar exam (the UBE). They are trying to accommodate the fact that lawyers move around a lot more than they used to (just like most people).

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.