Hell’s Itch in Current Events

  • July 5, 2023, 8:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Have we heard of hells itch? I haven’t until today. That sunburn from Monday turned into an allergy response known as hells itch. It’s as though there are fire ants attack me relentlessly. It’s not like a light itch that can be ignored. It’s like a sting that makes me feel desperate for relief. Because the burn is still fresh, scratching the itch is painful. It’s the mental anguish from this that is hell.

The itch started at work, on my chest. We were having a store rally and Linda was laughing at me and I didn’t understand why. Then I realized that I was just standing there holding my chest and lightly scratching it. It looked as though I was playing with my breasts. I’m a modern woman. On my drive home I was screaming for relief after I ripped off my shirt only to have pissed it off even more.

When I googled remedies for sunburn itch relief, thats when I discovered the name of this phenomenon. Antihistamine is the only thing that appears to be effective. This is going to last for up to 48 hours. I don’t want to take any antihistamines, I’m going to try aloe Vera and hope for the best. I discovered that chugging cold water gives instant relief. It’s not long lasting but it feels like it is scratching my chest from the inside.

Basically, this is nerve damage. I need to support the process. My satin bathrobe is very soothing. I still have to get ready for my glamping trip tomorrow. I am going to nap and hope this feels a little better by the time I wake up.


Chaz July 05, 2023

I get hells itch too whenever I get sunburn. It’s sucks. I been getting it since I was a kid and used to suffer so bad and my dad would laugh at me. I thought I was crazy until the internet got popular and I googled and found that other people get it too. A shower will provide temporary relief. Last time I got it I drank alcohol and took Percocets until I blacked out and that seemed to work good too. Lolol. No one who hasn’t had it before will understand how excruciating it is. Especially if you have it on your back.

TL Chaz ⋅ July 10, 2023

I did not get it on my back, thank god. I just let myself suffer. I don't want to go through this again. I have a high tolerance for pain but this was just torture because it was relentless. It turned into heat exhaustion a few days later. I had the chills and could not get warm.

Chaz TL ⋅ July 10, 2023

Yeah Hell’s itch is def in the top five worst experiences in my life. I felt bad knowing you were experiencing it. Hopefully you’re feeling better now. I also get physically sick when I get sunburn too from the increase in body temp. The sun is hard on me. I take every precaution possible to avoid getting too burnt and people think im over reacting.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.