elegy for the guilty in poetry

  • July 3, 2023, 9:14 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

those cops just threw him in the river
the rocks were what bashed out his brain
and you can’t press a charge on a river
that would be wholesale insane

they’re all just footnotes in history
dumb luck’s the cause of all misery
it’s all part of god’s great mystery
you’re safer to just stop listening
at least that’s what they tell me
I don’t know
and neither do they

the voices were what pulled the trigger
who could blame such an innocent gun
if they weren’t around for the shooting
how could the rich men ever have fun?

they’re telling me
don’t dig too deep
for the way it works
works fine for today
at least that’s what they tell me
I don’t know
and neither do they

and I know that they don’t
because if they ever knew
they would most certainly say
the egos of boring men
they just work that way

those cops just threw him in the river
the rest was left up to the gods
or maybe the odds

if there’s even a
difference at all


Last updated July 04, 2023


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.