silence in poetry

  • June 26, 2023, 2:29 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

silence is golden and I’m goddamned near broke
silence is golden
it’s soft and it’s rarer than hen’s teeth in a vegan restaurant
it’s precious and lusted after
hoarded and often stolen when
not heavily guarded with all of your strength

silence is golden and I am uncomfortable with bounty
I was not raised to know how to be
of abundance in that sort of way
I fill the spaces with my own
sort of flux, binding my life
from the disparate pieces that
generally are a silver at best
but silence is golden

silence is golden
but you gotta know
when absence trends
from the natural flow
from deep concentration
from heart-fond bliss
not from bald acquiescence
not from rank cowardice
repressing a conscience
is iron pyrite as best
a betrayal more or less
silence is golden yes but
silver kills monsters best

silence is golden, yielding and molten
practically verboten in this day and age

silence is golden, a thing of edges
creating deeper paper cuts
than any ordinary page

silence is golden and
we are briefly walking dirt
here on this running ruddy Earth

silence is golden
have you ever been punched
by a fist wearing gold rings?
glittering until contact
then comes the sting?

silence is golden
straight to the head

silence is golden
denser than lead

silence is golden
a gilded submission
for deep introspection
for psychic contrition
the long-shot creation
of a philosopher’s stone
in the heave of a crowd
it’s a moment enthroned

myself
I don’t do well alone
but even I sometimes
need a sliver of gold


Last updated July 07, 2023


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.