Embers in Current Events

  • June 25, 2023, 1:18 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I feel like that fire in me is starting to go out. Perhaps I am just becoming numb to it. I’m not letting myself lose my momentum in being productive and proactive. Intention Deficit Disorder is the three magic words that are still motivating me. I’m the captain of this vessel. I have the self-awareness that I let myself get stuck waiting for myself to feel like it. To feel like doing anything. It is never going to happen which means that I have to parent myself and do the things that I don’t feel like doing. I’ve been very good at it for the mundane things but when it comes to creating big changes I am a lost cause. That is not even true, I have come a long way from where I have been. Slowly but surely.

I looked at my depressing work schedule for next week and it is just one single 6-hour shift. I was mentally prepared for it. I’ll pick up any shifts that are offered, of course. I am finally active in my job search. I did procrastinate. This situation is not hopeless. What is the opportunity here? I need to ask myself. I have a lot of time to work on my online projects. I am aiming to explore the Wild Wild Web and do my hustles online. It’s risky but I can afford to take risks. Like the kids graduating this month, I have no mortgages, spouses, kids, debts, or in-laws, to hold me back. Life hasn’t crushed their dreams yet, they can afford to take all the risks they want. Astrologically speaking, I would be in my purpose. It won’t be easy to get high success but I have time to try.

I can feel all of my insecurities bubbling up to the surface which is expected. I don’t actually want to leave my comfort zone but nothing ever grows there, I know that.

I spent the night at my mother’s house. She invited me over for dinner and a bonfire. She and her boyfriend invited me to go out to Heckla for a day when they are out there camping next. They want me to go kayaking with them. I have never done that so I am looking forward to it. It also just hit me how close my camping trip is with the girls. We go from the 6th to the 9th. I am adamant to have a hot girl summer even if it digs me into a little debt. I want to actually do things this summer, that’s all I’m saying. I regret not doing the most every single year. I start my class in September so I got to enjoy my freedom while I can.

I had to clean up the kitchen when I got home. My roommate left me her mess. She really is starting to regress. I don’t want to carry that stress today. I don’t know what to do with my day exactly. I’m winging it. I need structure so I will write down a to-do list and actually do it. Maybe. Anyway, on with it then.


Zampano June 25, 2023

Those times... I feel that. Today has been somewhat similar for me. It started nice. I soaked up some sun and sweated. Vitamin D is nice for when you don't feel like doing anything but you are still doing something. But later I hit a tennis ball against a wall for a few hours (no one wants to play these days) but that didn't do the trick I was looking for. I did my homework for class and it's still not feeling satisfying. Sometimes watching a documentary about something I believe in or am passionate about does the trick.

TL Zampano ⋅ June 25, 2023

Any documentary recommendations? I usually just land on watching presentations about syncretism and podcasts with naturopaths debunking germ theory 🥸

Zampano TL ⋅ June 25, 2023

Forks Over Knives is up lifting. Food, Inc, The Omnivores Delimma (Micheal Pollan has a new one out I need to catch,) Those are a bit dated but still classics. Eating Ourselves Into Extinction. I saw an advert for one Natalie Portman was narrating I thought I might find interesting. All the Planet Earths. David Attenborough is narrating one now about the Jurassic World. I've been trying to get back into watching some new things, but I generally stick to reading. Similar to your plight to curb the phone flow. TV and movies are best taken like a grain of salt. Sensory overload.

But, my co-workers have been putting me on to some good flicks at work. The Villainess, White Collar, The Tournament, The New Avatar. I binged The Watchman on HBO. It was almost emotionally scarring to binge it but I did it anyway. I'm a long time Watchman enthusiast. The Watchman and Philosophy is a fantastic read and great unofficial companion piece. House MD is a classic. Maybe the best television drama ever written. It was written by a real doctor (dated of course.)

Maybe some of those suggestions may stir some enthusiasm! Godspeed!

The Tranquil Loon June 26, 2023

Am I goodness for some reason I like Playing tennis off the wall.I randomly thought the last couple of months of .

The Tranquil Loon June 26, 2023

Play a racquetball. Kind of the same thing and I don't have to go to the Y. to do it I hope you found You're niche in the day

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.