Better Markdown in Site Updates

  • Aug. 16, 2014, 12:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Let me just say that I believe this latest update will be awesome1. It should enhance and fix the current Markdown2 formatting.

I think I've found a better tool for converting Markdown, so add-on features that I've tried to include before (and it broke everything) should (key word should) work smoothly now.

NOTE: Any of your existing entries and comments should not be affected by this update.

So here's what's changing...

First

Line breaks.
Line breaks should just happen now if you hit the Enter key, even if there is no blank line to separate paragraphs.
HTML with line breaks inside the tags should still work fine (like codes pulled from Photobucket).
Dude!3

Second

Underscores inside of words should no longer be converted to a partially italicized word by Markdown. So, in theory, your links shouldn't break like they used to.

oh_hooray_how_happy

Third

Strikethrough!

If you want to strike out words, you can do that using Markdown now, like so:

If you want to ~~strike out~~ words, you can do that using Markdown

Fourth

Footnotes. Oh yes, glorious4 footnotes!

They are pretty easy. Just insert a footnote like so:

This word[^1] needs a footnote.

And then, at the end of your entry, add the footnote definition like so:

[^1]: Word to your mother.

Fifth

Tables!

Say you want to make a little table in your entry and you don't want to mess around with HTML. You can do it like so:

Band|Type
----------------|------------
Led Zeppelin|Rock
The Beatles|Pop
Nirvana|Grunge
Nickelback|Crap

Notice that you are basically just drawing a table with vertical bars (|) and dashes (-), and they don't actually have to line up. This gives you:

Band Type
Led Zeppelin Rock
The Beatles Pop
Nirvana Grunge
Nickelback Crap

Summary

The first three items should apply to both entries and comments. Items 4 and 5 are just for entries, and most likely won't work inside comments. There may be more things, but that's all I can think of for now. As always, if I've horribly broke something, let me know.


  1. I say awesome a lot.

  2. Markdown is awesome (see the first footnote). I didn't invent it, so learning it could actually help you outside of Prosebox. For example, if you decide to start using a blogging platform like Svbtle or Ghost. Markdown is the bee's knees (that's slang for you older people who have no idea what I'm babbling on about).

  3. I say dude a lot.

  4. Footnotes are indeed a thing filled with glory.


Parallax. August 16, 2014

Dude! I have very little idea what all this means since I barely make an effort to format my entries as it is, but it all looks very exciting :D

Echo August 16, 2014

Yay for better line breaks!

AnOrangeZebra August 16, 2014

Real cool.

Dancing.Shadow August 16, 2014

Sweet!!

softea August 16, 2014

FOOTNOTES. Footnotes were a thing I didn't even know I needed until now wow

synapse August 16, 2014

I LOVE YOU for your love of markdown.

Etoile Filante August 16, 2014

I am especially excited about footnotes!!!
xXx

Silverstar46 August 16, 2014

Wow, that is pretty effing cool! Thanks!

Silverstar46 August 16, 2014

er.. i mean, it's the bees knees!

Deleted user August 16, 2014

Great! Thanks for the update!

Sapphire's Gaze August 16, 2014

Thank you, a very handy update!

I need tea. August 16, 2014

•kitkat• August 16, 2014

This. Is. Awesome.

woman in the moon August 16, 2014

I'm more of a nested parentheses person than a footnote person - I don't plan ahead - but I love the table. I will try to use it before I forget it. Thanks loads.

Sojourn August 17, 2014

I enjoy seeing the changes like this. I think we could all still use a dummy Tool bar with quick access to all this as we type our entries. cause well my brain can't handle all this information and remember it! No matter how awesome it is.

nthaniel August 17, 2014

I can't get the footnote thing to work.

Deleted user August 17, 2014

Very useful features. Thanks a bunch.

sparkyray August 17, 2014

LIIIINE BREEEAAKS!

The rest of it is awesomesauce and I love your examples, too.

ThisIsME August 17, 2014

Yayyy thanks a ton

middle age pearl August 17, 2014

:)

moneypenny August 18, 2014

Ok, the footnotes and tables are really cool. Thanks!

Cat Mommy August 18, 2014

If I'm using an icon from Markdown (like the smileys) you still need to hit enter twice. For example on my OctoPhoMo Prosebox I use the paw print icon to create lists (instead of numbers or bullet points). Without the paw print I only need to hit enter once to get a line break but with the icons hitting enter once just smashes all my writing into one lump.

The two spaces thing doesn't work anymore. As long as I don't edit old entries the lists stay the way I formatted them but editing them causes my lists to become one paragraph which is a bit annoying. Any ideas?

This is an entry I have not edited:
https://www.prosebox.net/entry/59186/full-moon-and-birthdays/

This is an entry I have edited:
https://www.prosebox.net/entry/59210/tricks-treats-and-costumes/

As you can see the first one has a proper list while the other has a paragraph. Now there's no way in new entries to format a line break if I use the icons to create lists.

simple mind Cat Mommy ⋅ August 18, 2014

I tried a test and it seemed to work. Let's see:

<i class="fa fa-fw fa-glass"></i> Martini?
<i class="fa fa-fw fa-beer"></i> Beer, please.

Martini?
Beer, please.

Cat Mommy simple mind ⋅ August 18, 2014

Hmmm, I wonder why it's not working in that particular entry...

simple mind Cat Mommy ⋅ August 18, 2014

The only thing I can think of, do you manually add your own paragraph <p> tags, or wrap sections with other HTML tags? Markdown shouldn't work if it's inside of any other tags. If all else fails, there's the <br> tag to put in a break with HTML.

Cat Mommy simple mind ⋅ August 18, 2014

I don't use HTML at all.

Cat Mommy simple mind ⋅ August 19, 2014

Some how I got it to work even though I did nothing different. That was frustrating as hell! lol

Everything Good Rebecca August 20, 2014

Some of these improvements[^1] are exactly what I've been dreaming of but not wanting to be a whiner over requesting. What I mean is: Thanks!

[^1] helps that have been missing but are no longer

Deleted user August 21, 2014

Nice! Thank you :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.