The mean boss thing and seizures in Bittersweet

  • June 9, 2023, 8:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Lets go with Mean boss first.
I had to tell receptionist D she has taken off almost 70 hours in the 5 months since she started and of that 37 of it was unpaid and 32 has been paid. We are supposed to be limited to 40 hours unpaid time off in a year. Its not enforced for anyone, but now she wants to enforce it for D. I feel so bad sending her the message. She saiys she understands and everything. But like every reason has been valid. Her kid got sick. she had to get custody of the kid, she had a hospital visit when the kid hit his head and needed stitches. more court time… Shes really only taken off one day that wasnt valid. I know its hard to cover her, But they are real reasons..... I hated sending her the message. I feel low. Like Im a terrible dick. I half expect to come in to her desk cleaned out on Monday although she said she totally understands and feels so bad for taking so much time off.

One of our therapist is epileptic and Ive known for a while. But of our staff only really a handful know. Her supervisor, me, CEO, and N. Anyone else shes told is her own buisness. But That is the only staff that we have notified. N texted me and said that J came in after a session with a kid ( she works mostly with kids) and looked oddly pale. Shes latina so pale dosent wear well. She went in the bathroom, then came out and siad do I look ok? N said you look like shit, J said I thought so and to cancel her afternoon and she was calling for a ride home. N texted me and said I think shes going to seize or something. She looks really weird. I ran over really quick. She was in her office. I went in and sat down on the floor with her. She was sitting there with a trash bin in case she threw up. Her phone and laptop were on the floor. I said what do you need, what can i do. She kinda mumbled a lot. She said she slipped and fell and she almost hit her head and was having kinda a trauma response and thought she may have a seizure. Her eyes were barely open and kept rolling. I offered water, food, sugar, She said she just wanted to sit and close her eyes. I said do you want to lay down. She said I think I may seize if I do. I said ok. Lets just sit for a few, you want a cold rag, she said no. I asked if her girlfriend was coming. She said yes. I said ok. She said I jsut want to kind of sleep. I said ok, Im going to go and ill come check on you in a bit, When is R ( her gf) getting here. She said 45 min. I said ok ill check on you in about 30.
R took a bit longer. She went home to get Js service dog in training. He isnt ready so she isnt bringing him yet. But he can detect her seizures. But im pretty sure she was on the brink. Last time I saw her eyes doing this she seized less then 24 hours later. R got her in the car, moved her car into employee of the month spot so it was off the street.

I asked CEO if there was something we should do, like a safety plan. What do we do if she has a seizure? Like she said shes pretty good at knowing when they come on, but what if she has one with no warning. How long does she seize before we call 911. What is the plan. CEO agrees we should talk to her and find out. But only if she wants something.
I noticed shes been wearing her medical alert necklace on the outside of her clothing lately. So I think shes finally starting to tell people. She hid it for about 8 months before she told me. I knew because CEO told me in case something happened.

N and I took two walks today. It was SO freaking slow and quiet.... we got around 7K steps together taking 2 half hour walks about 2 miles. The two receptionists were bored and we didnt have much for them other then work on auditing stuff as a project. I mean we spent the last hour with a new therapist looking at tattoo ideas. His appt no showed so we looked up tattoo ideas instead. I shared one of my fav tattoo designers with them and N shared her fav place to get work done. They do good line work. I need someone who does really good linework for what I want.
When it was 4 and time to go. One of the interns came out with 20 questions so after it was dead for hours ( 2 calls in the last 2.5 HOURS) Its like really… Why NOW. She had no one for the hour before either! Ahh. So I left 20 minutes late again.

I got some wool washed when I got home. Super productive day.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.