Hungry in Diary

  • Aug. 6, 2014, 1:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I woke up at around 5 something this morning and couldn't fall back to sleep. Not an awesome way to start the day. I paced around and looked at some news sites, trying to not get too depressed by what I read. sigh For some reason, whenever I read the news and I'm depressed, I get more depressed afterward. Today isn't one of my best days, emotionally speaking, to put it mildly.

I'm going to make something to eat, probably something healthy like ramen noodles or a small frozen dinner, and then lay down in bed for awhile and see if I can get another couple hours sleep. I won't be surprised one way or the other if I'm unsuccessful. But I'm hoping for the best.

I wish I knew what my problem was. Or is it 'is'?

Well anyway, I went to this temporary job/training gig today and listened to a bunch of the usual nonsense businesses have to tell you before you start a job, and took a drug test and had a physical. It'll be hilarious, or at least mildly amusing, if I test positive for anything. I ought not since I haven't done any drugs in a long time. Of course there's alcohol, but I didn't go in to take the test drunk, so I should be alright there. It was such a pain in the butt.

I weigh 174 pounds, I found out at the doctor's office. That's a lot for my size. The nurse said I don't look overweight. Well, whatever. I plan to lose maybe 14 pounds, get down to an even 160. That way all of my pants will fit me again. Good times. Maybe I should start lifting weights, convert the extra fat to muscle. It's a good thing I'm quitting drinking. That'll cut out several hundred calories a day.

The temp agency I signed up with ages ago finally called me this afternoon and offered me a temporary position just for this week. I chose the graveyard shift, and it starts tonight. I should've picked a different shift, probably, but graveyard pays an extra dollar per hour. Maybe I shouldn't have even accepted the position at all, though, judging by how crappy I'm feeling today. If I can get some rest and even out by this afternoon, I'll know whether I can do it or not. And in the event I'm not feeling up to it, I will call the temp agency and request a different shift. They may say yes or no to that, I have no idea. Either way, I have to take care of my mental health first. I'll be working roughly 28 hours a week coming up, anyway, and at that position they will help me find a full time job and possibly even pay for me to go to a trade school and get a degree.

I guess that's all I have to say. The parrot will need some attention at some point, too. So I'll go hang out with the bird after my nap. Take care.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.