The Artful Dodger in The Stuff That's Not Interesting But Is The Most Interesting Stuff I'll Write

  • Aug. 5, 2014, 10:57 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

My other roommate got me really upset yesterday. I know, after that big spiel in the previous entry about how I don't really have any drama, but this is something a little more serious and upsetting than someone claiming they "know" me.

This roommate is a serious science student. Whenever someone brings up something vaguely scientific, he absolutely must assert his opinion/the truth/everyone else knows NOTHING. I'm fine with that, I understand people who want to speak with authority; it's something that we all desire. However, his field of study is molecular biology. I had mentioned my disorder that I have... long story, just Google PKU... and he then proceeded to lecture me on PKU.

I just stared at him blankly as he went on and on about how it's not that serious at all. Then he started telling me what my meal plan should be. I couldn't even begin to form a sentence because everything he was saying was so astonishingly incorrect.

Then the other roommate chided me last night because I had grown silent in the conversation, and he said that it was because I was superior to everyone else. In my mind, I thought "Well, I certainly feel superior NOW!" I simply replied that, while I do believe I am well-educated on a range of topics, those topics are limited and if I have nothing interesting or informative to add to the conversation, I shall say nothing.

That was actually an artful dodge because in reality, Bernard, that's the chatty roommate who "knows" me, wants to be the humorous one and the center of attention. However, he wants to win by force. He wants to shove me unceremoniously out of the spotlight and earn the distinction of center of attention on his own merit, not because I ceded the floor.

Today we're supposed to go to the school and evaluate a new faculty member. We were both invited to attend because we're "older". He always tries to cast himself in my age bracket, but he barely qualifies as an 80's baby.

I just need to keep myself grounded and remember that things are good. These little things are just meant to distract me from what is important... Wholeness and well-being.


KissOfLife! August 05, 2014

I'm surprised you didn't backhand him one and tell him to get his facts straight!

nothinglikeyou August 08, 2014

"Well, I certainly feel superior NOW!"

I let out a good chuckle!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.