The weekend got better in just testing

  • Aug. 5, 2014, 12:54 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

after the last entry.

The open house was fine.

My and Will lazed around the house most of the day [which was fine by me] and then later we saw 'Dawn of the apes' - or whatever it's called.

I actually liked it better than I thought I would - and probably better than the first remake. And there's room for a third one. Dusk of the apes?

Me and Will were thinking up names for the next movie making eachother laugh. I'm so glad we both have the a good sense of humor. We're always cracking eachother up.

Sunday we visited his parents. It was fun but my nephew kept having melt downs.

He's ADHD and he's on meds for it so usually he's decent.

When he was younger - before he was on meds - when things wouldn't go his way, small things like he couldn't watch what he wanted on TV he would have MELT DOWNS.

The worst thing about it was how LONG they lasted. He would be screaming and crying for over an hour! Most times, by the end of his fits they just put him in his room alone and even there, alone he would be screaming and crying about it for a looooooooooooooong time!

I mean, I know kids have tantrums but his last longer than me or my sister's ever did.

Some people don't believe in ADHD or dealing with ADHD with meds. To each his own - but when he's on meds his temper tantrums are less and even his meltdowns don't last that long.

He's going to be 9 this month - I feel like it's a little old to be having this baby-style tantrums but still it happens. But this Sunday was the worst I've seen in a LONG time.

It was over soda. I would say he's addicted. They don't even keep it in the house on a daily basis because he'll drink the whole thing. But they ordered pizza and they wanted soda.

So he got all excited when the soda came with the pizza cause he was expecting to get some. And his mom said no. She asked him to finish a piece of pizza first [with either water or gaterade] and then he could have soda. Cause she knows he'll keep going back for glass after glass of soda to the point he's too full for pizza.

So he had a mini fit over soda. He was making it as if she said he couldn't drink ANYTHING - which is not true. He just didn't want water or Gatorade, he wanted soda.

So then when his grandfather poured himself a glass my nephew stole and was like 'haha, now I have soda' and he was about to drink it too, and his mom was gonna let him! But Will stepped in and said no, listen to your mom and made him give it back.

THAT was the meltdown. SCREAMING and crying and talking back so smart - assed and they both went into the bedroom to try and talk him down.

Usually he'll listen to Will, cause Will comes to him kinda man-to-man style since his dad's not around. Usually Will can reason with him but this time there was no reasoning.

I wasn't in the room - I stay out of disciplining the nephew - it's not my kid. Will only steps in when his sis is having probs.

After a while of getting no where, they left him in the room alone - with his pizza - and told him to just stay there till he can behave.

The whole tantrum probably lasted 2 hours.

He was crying and screaming to himself about the situation for like 90 minutes.

Who has the stamina to be that rageful for that long?? And he was on meds that day!

By the time he came out he had gotten himself so worked up he didn't even eat the pizza!!!

And he was good for a while - till it was time for bed.

He goes to karate camp so he had to go to bed at a certain time and that was ANOTHER meltdown. Me and Will left but that one also lasted like 2 hours - says his sis cause we were gone.

I dunno what I would do.

My mom had me so scared and so obedient I don't even know how to handle a kid like my nephew.

I ate bad and swore to do better today.

10pm last night I got a text from my director that the chef had called out.

Guess who was the chef today?

Guess who got no work done today....

I understand that people get sick. But when he gets sick it falls on me and it just sucks.

When I get sick does he come in and answer phones and man the company website? Yea right.

I only had one job [Panera] where if I called out someone else had to do my job. Most of my jobs have been office jobs where the paperwork just waits till the next day.

I'm grateful a day off for me doesn't mean more work for someone else.

Oh and Stupid Will.

So he got all hot and bothered on Friday and said he's leaving his job and we're not getting a cruise.

Whatev.

Yesterday he was talking something about the cruise and I was like "we're not getting a cruise, remember?" and so he was like "if I get this job that pays $1100 then we can still get the cruise"

And I told him - I know you're gonna take that job is you want it - but if you don't report the money you get and you get caught and they make you pay the money back - that's gonna be a big fucking deal for us cause we're barely making it as it is"

He didn't say anything to that.

I continued to say "everyone thinks 'it won't happen to me' but it happens to people all the time and we don't have the lifestyle where we put a lot into savings if that happens to us"

He still didn't say anything.

OH and the girl I thought that was going to get fired - didn't. They considered that her last strike tho. The third time she's been talked to in 2 weeks for the same kind of issue.

If ANYTHING else happens, she's gone.

At least she wasn't fired due to what I reported. She probably deserved to be fired but the guilt over it happening cause of me would have just eaten me alive with guilt.

And yes I was very vague about what she did - cause I don't want it to ever be found off of my page if I list the details. I don't know who is or could read this in the future and I don't want anyone to find out anything about what goes on at my job - esp. negative stuff - due to me.


ninakir88 August 05, 2014

sounds like a tantrum my nephew would throw lol

precious butterflies August 05, 2014

That is insane about your nephew! I don't know how ya'll can deal with him. Thankfully, you don't see him 24/7.

Lunchbox August 05, 2014

My daughter has ADHD and throws very similar tantrums. It's really hard to deal with. It's like she's not even the same person when she throws her fits. And like your nephew, it's always over little stuff. Nothing is ever easy with and ADHD kid.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.