This is bat country. in Diary

  • Aug. 3, 2014, 4:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I met with that doctor I mentioned, today. He came up with a plan for me to quit drinking, and advised me to take certain vitamins that my body might need more of. It was good to talk to him, if a little embarrassing telling him how much I've been drinking. He mentioned that he knew my grandpa, who was a doctor for many years. A lot of people `round these parts knew him.

I thought I might try posting something on Facebook using my phone, earlier. It took me about 20 minutes to figure out how to write a post, but when I was finished I couldn't find a way to save it, so I ended up deleting the post. Oh well. I wrote a really dumb set of haiku about how I was hungry and I'd probably eat pizza and I wish I had a better appetite in the morning. It's probably for the best that I couldn't post it.

This morning I woke up early again and couldn't go back to sleep. I keep yawning. I must be tired. A nap sounds appealing, although I don't like going back to sleep once I'm up for the day. We'll see. Maybe I'll knock myself out with a couple shots of whiskey. I have a certain number I have to drink, anyway, and the doctor said to space them out throughout the day.

The plan he came up with is to drink my average number of shots for 4-5 days, and then to reduce that number by 1 for another 4-5 days, rinse and repeat until I'm down to 0. I'm going to go with 5 days, I think, but that may change. Tomorrow sometime I'll run to the store and pick up the vitamins. The doctor said most drinkers tend to not eat enough, and therefore become vitamin-deficient. As for me, I feel like I eat enough, but then again I consume a lot of empty calories with the alcohol. Any who.

I'm taking care of my mom's gray parrot for a couple weeks. He is a character, like most birds are. I've started playing peek-a-boo with him. It seems like he enjoys the game quite a bit. His friend Iggy (another gray parrot) is visiting until Tuesday afternoon. Grey is a lot happier when he has bird company. Today I gave them each a piece of coconut cake and one of those cheese-flavored sandwich crackers with peanut butter in the middle. They seem to enjoy them, or at least enjoy tearing them up.

Well I guess that's about it for today. Ta ta for now.



You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.