sad face in Bittersweet

  • April 25, 2023, 8:58 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I submitted our medicaid renewal. We are the first month of no more automatic renewals. And we are over income. We HOPED our saving grace would be if they go based off of taxes, we installed solar which lowers our tax bracket due to the payment. But nope. They dont. They go off of paychecks. In AK they pulled your taxes.
So we will show way over income. Its really scary when you think about the health insurance factor. Like not having it.
B got his bloodwork done thankfully. Hes extremely anemic and blood cells are like mine, misshapen and unable to absorb iron properly. I gave him some supplements. But no indication of anything other then EDS which isnt tested in the blood. So that is good.
Ill be able to get my last neurology appt in. Not a lot of good it will do me. They gave me three refills on my shots. Which means i can pick them up in July lmao. How fucking USELESS is that. I loose insurance the last day in june. So i wont be able to have any buffer on my migraine meds… and no way in hell Im affording 900 a month for that shot.
L and Ch will get their bottom braces on and that is covered and one adjustment will be covered. So after that we will be picking up the 250 a month for the braces. It needs to be done… they already look better. B needed them too but its too late now. So livid on that.
I can get health insurance through my work, but the deductibles are so high… I cant afford 10K per person… I think it would be better to just pay out of pocket. seeing its pay in full until the deductible. If it was a copay first… But its not.

Im just scared. Scared something bad will happen. Scared of the migraines, scared to go without that med. The others ill work to afford. Its going to hurt but we will make it work…
Scared for my kids without insurance. My anxiety is in overdrive now. Im trying to be accepting. I cant change that, I cant afford much else… Not unless T quits his job. And we cant live like that…
Just scared. And nothing is going to make this better for me.


Jinn April 26, 2023

Our medical system is so whacked . It’s all about the money and quality of care does not seem to matter any more.

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ April 27, 2023

I know :/ Im just hoping to get my sons surgery done and paid for.

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ April 27, 2023

I hope you can .

Small Town Girl April 27, 2023

I can't believe your job doesn't offer insurance!

ChainedChrysalis Small Town Girl ⋅ April 27, 2023

Oh it does!
Its 55 a paycheck, but it has a 10k deductible and its kaiser.
It just sucks because of the deductible. T and I have till july to figure out if we want to opt into his or my insurance. I really dont want to pay into it and have to pay in full to hit that 10K deductible and then only 70% is covered. Vs self pay which is cheaper. BUT we dont have emergencies covered either.

Small Town Girl ChainedChrysalis ⋅ April 27, 2023

UGH! Insane!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.