The gift in These titles mean nothing.

  • April 24, 2023, 2:52 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

How much of ourselves do we want to give?

How much can we disperse into the world yet still stay ourselves?

Does anyone care? Do I even care?

Is the glass half full?

And what are we drinking anyway?

I define myself as my age. I don’t like myself for doing that. Who or what am I?

Every sentence ends with a question mark. Almost.

I am as happy as I feel I am able to be. I live in the bubble of life. This is me. This is who I am. This is who I will always be.

It’s not pretty. It’s not even wise. It’s this confirmation of time and being alive.

Someone I know on FB recently listed his adjectives. I thought what? Are adjectives like pronouns? Are they how we choose to be called or seen? His first was empathy - which of course is noun rather than an adjective. I did not correct him because he was so right. He is a very empathetic person. It might be what sets him aside from the world. He cares.

At the time I could not think of adjectives to define myself. But later the me of me is so big that I can always see how I am. Not that I dis. But I’m stingy, lazy and diabetic. I asked my son if I was literate or creative. I thought I might be both but he said literate was closer. So there are my adjectives.

Stingy
Lazy
Diabetic
Literate

It must be time to do another jigsaw puzzle.

Or walk myself through some more house laps.


Jinn April 24, 2023

I think It’s hard to define ourselves . When I worked I thought of myself as empathetic, professional , detail orientated , highly motivated and always looking to learn.
Since I was injured I see myself as unmotivated , disorganized, moody , apathetic often, and a time waster. I want to change all of that but I have been stuck for years now. A lot of the time I let chronic pain define me as I can not seem to control it . I hate that in myself too .

woman in the moon Jinn ⋅ April 24, 2023

I just left you a long note and I hit the wrong key and it disappeared never to be found again.
I recommended two youtubes though so I suppose I can put the links back in. Sorry.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S7emPAZByLk
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VIxYj8FEZ34
Like most things in life, a youtube link is what you make of it.
Good luck. I'm sorry about your accident and how it changed your life. So unfair.

Jinn woman in the moon ⋅ April 24, 2023

Thanks. I whine about my pain too much but I do not let it stop me from much . I just have to move slower and sit more than most people. I get aggravated about that .
I will check out the you tubes ..Thanks !

gattaca April 24, 2023

The Buddha implies that we should give 100% of ourselves - this is the path to Enlightenment.
Something to ponder while I'm having coffee this morning.

woman in the moon gattaca ⋅ April 24, 2023

And then when we have nothing left, we still do.... have something left, have something to give.
Bless us all.

NorthernSeeker April 24, 2023

You are funny, exacting, and loyal.

woman in the moon NorthernSeeker ⋅ April 24, 2023

Funny, my old online boyfriend/love of my life ha ha, said I was funny. He said something else as a farewell - how he would describe me to whoever came after me, but I can't remember what it was.

NorthernSeeker woman in the moon ⋅ April 24, 2023

Intentional humour always helps me.

IpsoFacto April 24, 2023

You are those for additives, and so much more…
Introspective
Self-effacing
Smart as a whip
Hard-working
Salt of the Earth

Beret April 27, 2023

I agree with literate. I do think you write creatively. I think you are literary. Far more than me.

noko April 28, 2023

I like the placement of the passport. When you use it, you will have an expanded perspective.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.