Everybody has had a solution like this at least once. in The Napkin.

  • April 15, 2023, 11:20 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

alt text

So, for months now, the front end of Clarissa has been falling off. At some point a few months ago, I openned the hood to troubleshoot. See those holes I circled? There was a black washerplug that was in the far right hole. I moved it over to the far left, and that stopgapped the problem.

That washerplug is now gone. I mean, plastic. If the other three snapped off, I figured the last one would do the same thing eventually.

So I asked myself “Okay, what can I use to fill the holes?” I figured I had to have some screws around somewhere.

Took a minute, but remembered I have a toolbox. And, as the guy trope goes, a collection of random bolts and washers. Why do I have them? Where did they come from? I HAVE NO IDEA.

Anyway, two washers and two bolts later, my front end is snapped back into place.

I’ll just check it over the next few weeks to see whether the shearing force on the metal ends up digging into the plastic. Not sure what I’ll do after that, but not bad for a solution that cost me 0¢.

Clarissa Clutch is a 2008 Honda Fit, 5-speed manual transmission, with nearly 100K miles.


gattaca April 15, 2023

Is Clarissa the conventional Fit? (Not that Clarissa could ever be conventional), or is Clarissa the “sport” version with that weird little drag fin on the back?

Timmy™ gattaca ⋅ April 15, 2023

Base. : )

It'll be a sad day when I retire her, as modern cars have gotten the BSG treatment and connected the computers.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.