Insomnia tends to give the most vivid dreams. in The Napkin.

  • April 13, 2023, 5:16 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Gotta love a good dream sequence.

It’s as if I’m laying in bed in my old childhood bedroom. I’m under the covers, pretending to sleep. I’m hearing my parents argue. My dad’s upset I left some drawers open?

Dream logic.

My sister comes in, and sits on my bed. She sooths me by saying… Well, it was soothing. Dad has his ways, or some crap. I think she reminded me that I don’t need to hide in bed.

I get up, and I don’t know how I knew, but I knew I was dreaming. I felt calm and happy. I said something like, “I know this is just a dream, but thank you.” and hugged her.

I tried looking at myself in a mirror to guess how olde I was. But, it was blurry. I guessed I was six; though that never is relevant to the rest of the dream.

Knowing I was dreaming, I decided to poke around the house, see what each room would end up looking like. The next room over was my sister’s, and I wondered what I’d see. Instead of her room, it looked like a cluttered version of when I inhabited it.

I went downstairs, and my mom was watching TV. For a split second, I thought I saw an olde couch I really adored. But then I realized it was actually Daisy, my olde recliner. I sat in her. She was firm, but in-dream I thought she felt comfortable. On the wall, I saw two decorations that I thought I recognized. I wondered why we got rid of them.

Only upon waking and revisualizing did I realize they were throw carpets that I haven’t seen in 23 years or so. Like. Way to go, memory, to pull something I haven’t given a second thought to.

I checked the living room, and my dad was listening to something on headphones. But, I could hear it. I saw a black PS3 controller, and wondered if it would work in-dream despite this being before the PS3 ever existed. Hit the power button, and nothing happened. Saw a wireless keyboard, and hit power. That seemed to turn something on. However, the TV was on channel 53, and I guessed it needed to be on channel 3.

Took a bit to realize my dad was using the TV? My mom scolded him for being inconsiderate.

I felt hungry, so I checked the kitchen. I accidentally spilled cereal on the floor. I stood up, turned around, and looked across the stove counter, looking for a bag (to clean up the debris). My mom spotted a $50, and yoinked it. I mentally thought how, once I earned my keep, I will have taking it.

Gosh, I was looking forward to a crunchy, granola-y bowl of cereal in this dream.

Not much else happened after this. I recall seeing a 1,000,000 bill with Uhura on it. I took some money, put it on a bag/purse, and poured milk in it. I KNOW, DREAM LOGIC.

My mind started drifting and I realized I wasn’t focused on the dream. The images started to fade.


Anyway, I’m talking to my district manager at 2pm today. Been in limbo about my job. It’s nerve-wracking. But. I’ve identified that in terms of fight/flight/freeze/fawn, I tend to freeze. And. On a long enough timeline, the prospect of the unknown, the “wtf happened” will drive me insane. So. Win or lose, I’ll speak to her and see what the hell happened. Wish me luck.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.