It's getting real. in Life

  • April 13, 2023, 11:26 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

First nonstress test yesterday, baby did fine. I was so nervous my pulse was elevated, lol. I don’t always feel him so I was worried he’d fail because I didn’t feel when he moved! But i just concentrated real hard and i did get a few movements and they said he “exceeded expectations.”

Obgyn appt today, and met with an NP again because they ran out of doctor appts (I’ve actually demanded that I wouldn’t meet with the other NP who told me that if you fail the glucose test early in pregnancy you definitely already had diabetes and then doubled down on it when I questioned it, and she was wrong, but I said I’d do this one appt with the other NP, and then I wanted doctor’s appointments, and they did that for me). So she brought up induction, which i’ve talked to two of the doctors about, and they both agreed it was a good plan to schedule for 39+0 but that the hospital would “Decide” or “Call me in” I’ve heard both things. So she brings this up, and I tell her that’s what I’d talked about and she’s like “well we can’t wait to schedule it” and i’m like, “yeah i just meant that was the date for request, and we picked that since it might be a few days before they call me in” “well no, that’s not right” and then by the end of the convo she’s telling me she’ll request 3 days (39+0, 39+1, 39+2) and they’ll pick. Like isn’t that exactly what I was saying.... it’s like she couldn’t listen to what I was saying. I’m not an idiot and i’ve discussed this several times before and everyone else understood what I was saying so like… wha? Anyway, not impressed. It felt like she was just talking a lot herself and not really listening based on that confusion. And I’m not sure why both of the NPs seem to give me this feeling like they think they know things and i’m dumb, which I am absolutely not, and none of the doctors have made me feel that way…

Anyway, yeah we almost have a date, so that’s pretty crazy. (I’ve probably talked about this before, but this is a medical induction, not an elective, they want it between 39 and 40 weeks due to gestational diabetes, advanced maternal age, and ivf risk. And I just requested earlier in that time period for childcare reasons and so that kid gets to meet her little brother and not have to wait two weeks until her next visit) She told me to call by Monday if I hadn’t heard anything back about the date. (I hope she’s right that they’ll pick a date though, because my friend who delivered there in December had an induction put in and basically she was on call, and she got called at like 6 pm like 5 days after the request and they said “can you get here around 7ish” and i don’t even live close enough for that! Plus I’m going to be so nervous if it starts getting close to 40 weeks, knowing that the induction process can take a few days sometimes)

Just got my urine analysis results back in the account and have “Trace” protein in urine. Last week was negative, hope this isn’t a sign that I’m going to end up with preeclampsia in the last two weeks…


DE_KentuckyGirl April 13, 2023

I hate practitioners who act like that, and a lot of them do. I fired a doctor for that very thing.

DE_nobelle DE_KentuckyGirl ⋅ April 14, 2023

i'm far too intelligent to be unbothered at being treated like that. and i don't mind treating me like i don't know anything, because a lot of people don't, but don't be condescending.

i got one in though- she asked if i had a car seat and was it installed, and i told her we were doing a trial run this weekend but we hadn't put it in yet since cpsts recommend you don't drive around with it before baby, since if you get in an accident, you can't use the seat anymore. and she was like "oh" lol

bouchie April 13, 2023

I have probably told you this, but I was induced 3/3. It is really not that bad, just get your drugs early if you plan to get them 🤣

DE_nobelle bouchie ⋅ April 14, 2023

if you did, i did not remember! i hear the pain is a lot worse but hear plenty of stories of inductions that went fine too. i think i will prob get the drugs knowing the pain will be worse and i might be at it a lot longer in general haha

JustSurviveSomehow April 13, 2023

Gotta love the know it alls! In my experience the NPs were always much more personable, listened better, and were less full of themselves. I'm sorry that you're going through this, but it sounds like you have the strength to stand up for yourself! Which is good!

DE_nobelle JustSurviveSomehow ⋅ April 14, 2023

I've met with many NPs/PAs through the years and don't have anything against it, but 0 for 2 at this practice. I did have a PA like this once too, who argued with me that i had diabetes and said insulin resistance WAS diabetes and i told her to blood test me then and guess who was right? Never went back to her but I did tell the staff to make sure they communicated to her that my diabetes test was negative and that she was wrong haha.

i hate know it alls. I don't expect a doctor/np/pa to know everything about everything but you can't keep insisting you're right, just tell me you'll find out!

Empire of Lights April 14, 2023

Sorry you have a deal with difficult people. Hopefully the scheduling works out so big sister can meet her brother! So very exciting.
You doing okay? How are the nerves?

DE_nobelle Empire of Lights ⋅ April 14, 2023

I'm so excited to see her be a big sis!

I'm def nervous about the birth! I feel like I can't be excited about meeting the baby because I have to get through that. Same way I never look forward to vacation until the drive is over, lol. Hoping everything goes smoothly but just not looking forward to the entire experience!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.