Fire? in These titles mean nothing.

  • April 10, 2023, 4:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Please bear in mind..... I’m semi-new at this. I am hoping to be able to do things on purpose rather than accidentally.

This is a picture of the stack of mainly waste bales of hay in the end of the field at the bottom of Joana’s hill that somehow accidentally caught fire over overnight.

Interestingly there was another fire of unknown cause at another quiet corner nearer to town the night before.

Jim called the sheriff and a deputy came out and gave various advice. They decided to let the fire go for the rest of the day and then have the firemen come out at the end of the day = when the volunteers are generally off their day jobs to put the fire out.

Not a big deal, but a deal.


Beret April 10, 2023

Why are they waste bales? Too old? Very suspicious about those fires.

woman in the moon Beret ⋅ April 10, 2023

The quality of the hay when it was baled was bad - it had been rained on too many times. We have had a couple years when there was just too much rain and it was very hard to make quality hay. You still have to bale it though to get it off the field so the next crop has a chance of being better. It's a case of too much rain and ill-timed rain.
I get so tired of irrigation in the west when here in the Midwest we get enough rain out of the sky. I mean irrigation is good for crops that only grow in California. Not sure I made sense. I thought you might understand though.

Beret woman in the moon ⋅ April 10, 2023

I think I do understand what you are saying. Let's just drain the aquifers and rivers dry so stuff can be grown where it shouldn't be grown.

woman in the moon Beret ⋅ April 10, 2023

Yup.

Purple Dawn April 10, 2023

My brother stacks bales on one place he hays by the side of the highway. Once they were burned by someone purposely and once a car accident burned quite a few. Insurance was appreciated those years!!
Even if it wasn't great hay those bales are a costly loss.

Jinn April 11, 2023

Fire always worries me ..

Rivercity April 12, 2023

I remember learning that wet hay bales can spontaneously catch fire, and Google confirms this, but it still doesn't make sense to me. I didn't find the owl in your other picture, but I enjoyed looking at the book titles.

woman in the moon Rivercity ⋅ April 13, 2023

Hay can do that but that's after it's been freshly made not after it has sat on the ground several years - at least that's what I think. When you make hay and bale it before it's gotten dry enough that is something to consider. A neighbor's barn burned a few years ago and I suppose bales stored outside could catch fire too. ~~~~ The firemen were out with 7 I think tankers of water and still it smolders. It's not a huge loss but it's really too bad. We have to hire someone to come and bury the remaining mess.

noko April 15, 2023

Sad. A deal for sure, with the water and the need to bury the burned bales.

Serin April 16, 2023

Even understanding that those bales were waste, I feel like there were a lot of stories about hay shortfalls and it feels kind of awful looking at that picture and thinking of the beasties who might have snacked on it in other circumstances.

woman in the moon Serin ⋅ April 17, 2023

I know. Jim would have used them as bedding or perhaps as supplementary feed. Someone offered to buy them and he said no. I told someone that and they said you should always sell something if someone wants it - see what happens if you don't? Interesting idea.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.