Egg hunts. in Since OD is shutting down....

  • April 10, 2023, 4:14 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So I took the kids to an egg hunt last Saturday and then one yesterday. We went to one this morning and gonna go to another one in a few minutes. I plan to come home and relax for the rest of the day after this. I’m glad that they have this stuff for the kids because we didn’t when we were growing up. I don’t really remember ever getting to do much outside of school. I remember spending the Summer every year sitting in my room. There was plenty of times where when we lived out in the middle of nowhere, never leaving the house until school started again. It was fucking awful. That’s why when there’s stuff going on, we go do it. I wouldn’t ever want my kid to miss out on these things.

My parents spend a lot of time bitching about my little brother but never talk about how they raised him. My little brother never went to school and spent his whole childhood locked up in the house watching tv. They got to the point where they didn’t even take him to the grocery store because he would throw fits. No one could control him and my Dad would freak out if you even looked at him sideways. He grew up watching my Dad screaming, throwing fits and being a fucking bully. This is what he’s been shown and this is how he’s been allowed to act. He treats both of my parents like servants, breaks shit in the house and beats on their animals.

I don’t like my little brother but it’s not his fault that he’s like this. He never had a routine, never had a life outside the house, and was allowed to be a fucking monster. My Dad was adamant about not putting him in school, probably because he was abusing him and was scared that he would tell someone. My Dad did all of this to himself. We went to the store the other night and he was telling me that he hopes that my older brother and I are going to be checking in with little brother once they pass or go to a nursing home. I just don’t think it’s fair that he’s going to get to keep the house, which means my brother and I won’t see any money once they’re gone and we have to help him become a human being too?!!?

There’s just a lot of issues I personally have because we grew up in poverty, a lot of the time never even having food in the house. They didn’t give us a fucking thing and then once they are gone, we have to make sure the little monster is going to be alright?! I’ve tried to tell them to get him into counseling, start finding shit for him to do outside the house but they don’t want to hear it. They just want us to be a sounding board and listen to them complain but not provide any type of solutions!! I could NEVER imagine raising my child to be like this and then just hope everyone else is going to figure her life out once I’m gone and can no longer take care of her!

My little brother is almost 28. He doesn’t know how to pay bills, do laundry, or even take showers on a regular basis. All he does is control my parents and their house. I do feel for him because I know what his childhood consisted of but at some point he’s going to have to take responsibility for himself too. I remember when I moved out like 16 years ago, my parents never taught me about paying bills, filing taxes, renewing car tags… etc I had to learn on my own and ask people that I worked with.

I think it’s bullshit how they raised him and still won’t take any accountability for it. My Dad just always talks about my little brother has a brain injury and blah blah blah but never speaks about how he didn’t get to go to school and have any kind of a life outside the house! He made sure that my little brother was never even alone with other adults and couldn’t even go outside and play in the fenced yard!! Like you don’t think ANY of this contributes to his behavior?! Bet!

There’s just a lot of things about my childhood and parents that I’m never going to get over. I wish that my little brother would have had a chance at a halfway normal life and my Dad took that from him because of his own fucking selfishness! He didn’t worry about 20 years down the road when it would be too late, he just thought about the here and now!! It is absolutely astounding how selfish a parent could be!

I remember never understanding this when I was young and then I became a parent and couldn’t imagine my kid not going to school. My daughter is such a social butterfly that just loves everyone and I could see her becoming super depressed if she were to stay home. Kids need school because they have to learn how to socialize and interact with other kids, they need to learn how to take direction from other adults and they need influence from their peers because as parents, we were raised in a different generation so we don’t know what’s trendy now days.

I remember when my little brother was a kid and my Dad was bitching to a family friend one day about never getting a break. The friend said, “well you could put your kid in school” and after that, I never heard him mention it again. I also remember when the neighbor asked my Dad why his kid didn’t go to school and he was absolutely livid and talked about how he didn’t appreciate someone telling him how to raise his kid. Um okay well he wasn’t, he simply asked a fucking question!

My Dad has a lot of mental issues IMO. It’s like how I can’t even talk to my Mom on the phone for more than about 5 minutes and I can tell he’s probably motioning for her to hang up. I think he’s just terrified of her having relationships with other people because he’s a very selfish, insecure person. There’s a lot I will never forgive him for and the main reason is because my daughter doesn’t get to have a relationship with my Mom because of him. I also blame her because she’s the one allowing this shit.


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.