Of Work and Attachment in My Musings

  • March 30, 2023, 2:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

While majority of my day was pretty decent, something in my mind snapped again. I’m not sure what the trigger is - could be my new colleagues, the slow pace / development, or a mixture of these and other factors. This led me to entertain the thought of looking for a new job again; in fact I have an interview lined up in the next couple weeks, but that’s a story for another day.

I am quite amazed at how people seemingly get along with each other and stay in a company for the long haul. I’ve had past colleagues who have worked in a single company for more than a decade - something unimaginable for me, since I was able to progress my career by jumping ship. I used to be so optimistic about making an impression and contributing in whatever I can. Nowadays, I just find it working as a means to an end - going through the motions and doing the bare minimum. Enlightenment, perhaps?

I am aware that this behavior / outlook might not do me good in the future. But with things already disappointing as they are (notwithstanding my pessimistic nature), then it’s just break even, is it not?


Comments are closed.

No comments.

Comments are closed.