The Lovecraft subreddit hates me. in The Big, Blue, House. Year two.

  • March 28, 2023, 7:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve been reading Lovecraft since I was introduced to his stories in eighth grade. I’ve always read faster, and more easily, than my peers. It’s called hyperlexia, and it’s common among people with Aspergers. At least one book has been written by professional psychologists postulating that old Howard himself had Asperger’s, but being neurotypical, they only see the clinical traits. He had so many issues that resonate highly with a neurodiverse person. But that’s another entry.

Screenshots of the stupidity of the day:

alt text

alt text

No, I’m not hiding my Reddit account. I refuse to cower in the face of bullies.

In Reading classes, in grammar school, teachers would sometimes go around the class having each student read the next paragraph in a given story from the book. When they got to me, there were invariably other kids yelling, “Tell her to slow down!”.

And I am by no means alone. The autism and Asperger’s subreddits are full of hyperlexic readers, I’m sure. And what about the best living authors, people like Neil Gaiman, and Stephen King. Do the plebes downvoting me think that they have trouble reading H.P. Lovecraft? Or Byron? Or Clark Ashton Smith? Hell, I know there at least a few regulars HERE with beefy vocabularies.

Maybe my complaint should be less about my personal downvotes, and more about the general lack of literacy among the r/Lovecraft populace. I am both perplexed, and disappointed. But at least I’m not an abject idiot, so I guess there’s that.


gattaca March 28, 2023

Cthulhu is one of my best friends!

Asenath Waite gattaca ⋅ March 28, 2023

I have a tee shirt in the works: "I sympathize with Cthulhu. I too am old, grumpy, sleep a lot, and think the world would be a much nicer place without all of these stupid people on it." I'm not sure about the first sentence.

Dayle March 28, 2023

New to Lovecraft. Where’s a good place to begin?

Asenath Waite Dayle ⋅ March 28, 2023

Here is his complete fiction, in chronological order:
https://www.hplovecraft.com/writings/fiction/chrono.aspx
My personal opinion is that his recognized 'style' starts with "The Transition Of Juan Romero" , in 1919.

That said, if you've never read anything of his before, definitely start with "The Call Of Cthulhu", from 1926. It's short, and it's his most popular work for good reason.

Mr. Mofo March 28, 2023

You know I am going to follow you on reddit now right? RIGHT?!?!?!?

Asenath Waite Mr. Mofo ⋅ March 28, 2023

It would be refreshing to get a 'follow' from something besides an obvious catfish.

I appreciate it. :)

Sleepy-Eyed John April 09, 2023

Word.

There are a tonne of smart people out there but even more idiots. I'm with you.

Sleepy-Eyed John April 09, 2023

Maybe they're upset because foreigner asking for support / comfort and your statement (while true) doesn't sympathize. And maybe makes others insecure about their own abilities. It's a balancing act between fuck this and fuck you, and I understand and care about your sadness.

Asenath Waite Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ April 14, 2023

You're probably right. My compulsion to be pedantic is often misinterpreted.

Sleepy-Eyed John April 09, 2023

I think people ultimately want to be soothed in their distress, like monkeys rubbing each other's fur so they don't go off and bite another monkey. But good God it's a hassle sometimes, and I don't know if I want to care that much either.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.