Peaks and Valleys in My Musings

  • March 8, 2023, 9:07 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was browsing Reddit yesterday when I came across the post “What screams that someone peaked in High School?”. I’m not sure if grateful is the correct word to use, given that I did not fall under this category. One thing’s for sure, though, and that the current me is certainly far from the best / highest version.

Now that I think of it, my highest point was perhaps in the mid to late part of 2011. I finally found a job that aligns with my skillsets, troubles (personal, financial, etc.) were minimal, and my physical condition (save for my competition years) was where I wanted it to be.

So what happened, and what’s stopping me from going back to reaching that same level? The answer lies with time, of course. I didn’t have much financial issues because I was living with my parents back then. Responsibilities piled up (no surprise there) as the years went by. Working out had to take a bit of a backseat with my hairline towards the same direction. As what has been shared in the earlier posts, I’ve also had my share of questioning my purpose in the recent years (and days, even) despite what would look like a pretty decent career.

Just to clarify - I am not making excuses or whining that I am not living my best life. Rather, it is a realization that we all have our share of peaks and valleys to encounter. What matters is living each day to the best we can and putting our trust in him. In the lines of Dory: “Just keep swimming”, and with that, I certainly have not given up yet.


Comments are closed.

No comments.

Comments are closed.