The whole truth and nothing but... in These titles mean nothing.

  • March 2, 2023, 11:20 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

What are some of your favorite cities you’ve been to?
I like hilly ones, Duluth, San Francisco and Waterville. Galena is pretty hilly too.

Would you allow your children to date prior to 16?
I never felt I had much control over my children.

Did you ever go through a phase where you thought guys in bands were ‘hot?’
I still can like a drummer or a guy with a good guitar touch.

What’s something about adult life you were never warned of or prepared for?
That I would be free to do what I wanted to do, accepting consequences, of course.

Did your parents teach you proper table manners when you were growing up?
I don’t remember. I suppose.

What was the last thing you baked?
Does heating up frozen pizza count? If so, night before last.

Do you live more than 5 hours away from the nearest international border?
It would take me more than 5 hours to get to Canada even if I flew part way.

Does your town have a farmer’s market?
It does. I have not been there in a long time. I used to sell cookies and bread there but that’s been an even longer time ago.

What’s the westernmost point you’ve been to?
Pacific Coast from San Diego to Port Rupert.

What was the last restaurant you made a reservation at?
I don’t think I’ve ever made a restaurant reservation.... the diner on the train a few times, maybe.

When did you last feel lonely?
Sometimes I’d like someone to talk to. Someone to share stuff with. Someone I could trust.

Can you easily tell when others are masking their true emotions?
This is not something I think about.

How often do you wash your car?
A few times every year - I share it with my son and he washes it more often than I do.

When did you last lend money to a friend?
In high school there was this really pretty redhead from a poor(er) family who would ask me for quarters for lunch. She ever paid me back and eventually I stopped giving them to her.

Which app on your phone do you tend to get the most notifications from?
This question does not apply to me.

Do you own a Dutch oven? If so, what was the last thing you cooked in it?
I have kind of a big pot that came with my last set of pots and pans - the one that uses the same lid as the frying pan? That’s sort of a Dutch oven, isn’t it? I do not remember the last time I used it. It was before my big crock pot obsession.

Do you find it easy to put yourself in somebody else’s shoes?
I try to be empathetic. I think it’s one of the most important thing a person can be. But it’s not always easy.

What is currently on your kitchen table?
Oh God, you want to know??? Several stacks of new-ish used books including Wallis and Edward’s Letters 1931 - 1937. Today’s mail and the one-eyed cat coming to get my cereal.

What is your favorite time period in history to learn about?
Any.

How old were you when you met your current best friend?
Deep question.

Have you ever kissed a smoker?
Yes, my husband smokes until he was in his early 30s. I don’t ever remember being aware of any difference.

If you won the lottery, do you think any of your family members would ask you to give them some of your money?
I’d offer to pay off my kids’ debts, help finance grandkids’ college. That should be enough.

What is the craziest thing you’ve seen happen at your workplace?
I can’t think of anything. If I remember later I’ll come back and add it - update the entry so you’ll know.

Do you own any home automation gadgets like wifi thermostats or wifi bulbs?
We do not because we have shitty satellite internet that barely works so wifi based gadgets would not work. ----- same answer previous person had. Plus I’m about as techy as the dog.

What is something you gave up on after many failed attempts?
Writing anything of significance.

Would you rather read a book, or listen to the audiobook?
I like owning books. The audio thing is nice for in the car or doing jigsaw puzzles. I’d like some kind of sound system to take on outdoor walks. I used to have an AM/FM Walkman and I listed to eternities of NPR on it while on long outdoor walks. I had a battery charger to recharge the triple As.

Do you think tomorrow will be a better day than today?
I expect tomorrow to be a lot like today.


Loki March 02, 2023

I agree with the empathy part. I think the best thing we can do is try to be empathetic (even when it doesn't come easily sometimes).

noko March 02, 2023

I fell asleep last night listening to a book on Medieval History. I have no idea how the book got into my audio library. The author has opinions. Excellent for bedtime.

Jinn March 02, 2023

That is a pretty interesting survey . I might steal it !

NorthernSeeker March 03, 2023

Every kitchen table should be its own library. There are currently 12 books on our kitchen table and a few notebooks. I find it hard to pay attention to audiobooks.

woman in the moon NorthernSeeker ⋅ March 03, 2023

I'll list mine if you list yours.
I might list mine even if you don't list yours.

NorthernSeeker woman in the moon ⋅ March 03, 2023

I'll put mine in my next entry.

Serin March 10, 2023

My parents taught me the manners for the family table, for our culture. It was not preparation for a formal dinner banquet.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.