Healing and Moving On in My Musings

  • Feb. 28, 2023, 1:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

What does it take to be healed? To move on and be free from the chains that bind?

I finished Khaled Hosseini’s “The Kite Runner” this past weekend. While there were a number of heavy / uncomfortable themes, I feel the central message revolves on today’s writing cue. Amir, the main character, had quite the complex relationship with the people around him; his father, Rahim Khan, Ali, Hassan, and Sohrab. All he wanted was to gain his father’s favor, which led to a number of regrettable decisions and actions. It was only coming to terms with his past, the truth, and ultimately letting time take its course that he was able to make peace with the present.

I’d like to think Amir’s situation is very much relatable to my state of being last year. I was in a dark place, owing to multiple life issues. Mulling over wrong decisions and contemplating on what might have been was the norm for me, especially in the first couple months or so. It did take quite a bit for me to get to my senses, but time and the right people truly healed me.

I don’t know how else to put it, but there was a feeling of peace in my case. It was then I realized that I was finally able to go on, and everything will be okay - just as God (and life) intended it. Closing the chapter on what has been, embracing the present, and looking forward to the future leaves a feeling like no other. As such, I am nothing but grateful.


Last updated February 28, 2023


Comments are closed.

No comments.

Comments are closed.