When is it Appropriate in Journal

  • Feb. 26, 2023, 10:10 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

To consider ear piercing for your daughter?
The question is intriguing to me because the fact of body autonomy and informed consent is forefront in my mind. And when does a child have the degree of understanding future consequences, how decisions shape attitude and beliefs, and their own motivations.
Personally, I find some earrings to be elegant, and an accessory that can make or break the look at important occasions.
But, there are always clip-ons.

I was poignantly reminded of my childhood and how I got my ears pierced. I was 12. I remember it distinctly. I was in the 6th grade. I wanted my ears pierced, and so my mom let me do it.
But it didn’t make me happy. In fact I think it made me scared and anxious. Mom, and nobody, cared to ask why I wanted my ears pierced. There was no particular reason why I should, or shouldn’t. And no one cared to know the reason, or lack of reason, as it were. This meant, I think, that I felt excruciatingly exposed. I got my ears pierced on a whim with no care and no reason. What else would my young, immature, impulsive self want in the moment? Where would this pattern lead if left without any resistance?
It is sort of a silly innocuous thing to think about- getting ones ears pierced. But it isn’t particularly about that, experientially. What I learned and internalized from it was the method by which my parents and mom in particular made decisions. The decision matrix went something like, “will this particular thing benefit me? My daughter’s time and attention and social needs are increasingly met and sought in her peers, and this takes pressure off of me, and this particular interest facilitates that.”
I grew up in a very unique time, I think. Or perhaps place. Or both. When I was 12, the peer landscape was incredibly diverse in terms of quality, value, intellect, etc. There were girls who were smart, pretty, reserved and classy. There were the town sluts. And there were everything in between. What I mean by unique is that today, ear piercings are barely even a thought let alone second thought, as to contributing to the perceived qualities of a person. But when I was 12, it was racey to have your ears pierced. And a distinct social risk. A girl risked never being taken seriously if she had her ears pierced. Certainly, if there was more than one, her prospects were completely nill.
And yeah, you can have all the “pride” you want in your lifestyle. But it’s nothing more than the rantings of a reprobate to everyone else. Or, the pronouncement that one lacks caring parents; ie, a siren of the vulnerable neglected minor.
So a 12 year old experiencing the make it or break it social risks is going through an extremely crucial moment in life. An intelligent 12-year-old [higher capacity to empathize with the future self] will resist displaying vulnerability, seeing that this leads to distinctly negative outcomes. But she lacks guidance and protectionjust as much as the sluts who showcase their vulnerability and just aren’t intelligent enough to resist the short term benefits. The intelligent 12yo has more gas in the tank, so to speak, to go a little further. But no matter how much gas the child has, she’ll run out at some point when she has no moral, spiritual, intellectual, guidance.
So it is destructive when people point out how “well” kids are doing in relation to one another, taking credit for their parenting or something like that. They’re doing nothing except claiming credit for the relative sacrifices of their children.
My relative success had nothing to do with my parents. Unless you count the genetic component of intelligence. I feel angry at the thought of my mom as she often says “we did pretty good! Look how you turned out!” Because I know that I had to sacrifice a lot just to make it. The wisdom and guidance that was rightfully mine was withheld, and I had to literally cripple parts of myself just to keep up. It doesn’t matter that I had more biological resources to devote to trying to keep up. No one starts out with equal intelligence, or equal security, or equal anything. I judge by what choices were made about the resources afforded, since that is the only thing we have control over.
And, in the case of my parents, they vampirically siphoned off huge potential from my young self in order to claim credit for their own success. And it’s absolutely disgusting.

It is so interesting how small decisions can belie the depth and purpose of those making them.
I do not think that I will ever make the mistake of a thoughtless decision when it comes to my children. And if I do, I will lament it.


Jodie February 26, 2023

I was 10 when I got my ears peirced and the issue was that I had to use alcohol on them every day for what seemed to be forever. And today the holes have closed up and I still have the earings I got for birthday and holidays presents and if I really want to I can still get them into my ears. But I would ask your daughter if she wants her ears peirced and then go from there.

woman in the moon February 26, 2023

Tattoos?

Miss Chiffs Manager woman in the moon ⋅ February 26, 2023

What about them?

Camdengirl February 26, 2023

My sister wanted hers done and begged and begged... mum finally relented on her 13th birthday, which set the precedent. I couldn't be arsed but did get them done when I was maybe 14/15 on a whim one afternoon.

The thought of having a child who didn't actively want them done having their ears pierced feels like mutilation to me... I dont get it at all. It doesn't look attractive at all to me. But obviously there are religious reasons etc, but there is no way I'd be doing that to my children.

They kinda need to be old enough to look after them so 13 feels about right...

Scarlett Angel February 26, 2023 (edited February 26, 2023)

Edited

My daughter wanted her ear pierced at age 5 in kindergarten so we got hers done. She absolutely loves them (she's 7 now)and always wants earrings in her ears. There's no dark cloud around it whatsoever. She's happy, and I'm happy. No big deal unless it bothers someone which in this case it doesn't. I could care less if it bothers onlookers. They can't rain on her parade.

I pierced my own ears in highschool with a safety pin bc my parents wouldn't let me. How dare they tell me what to do with my body.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.