Coming Between Me and Whoopi in The Stuff That's Not Interesting But Is The Most Interesting Stuff I'll Write

  • Feb. 25, 2023, 5:50 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I spent most of the beginning of the month asleep with acute food poisoning (aka salmonella). That has to be one of the worst illnesses I’ve ever had in my life. It has taken me weeks just to get my body back to some kind of nominal state.

We got a new teacher whom I get along with. I’m starting to wonder why I don’t get along with people. He’s quite normal, which I know somehow sounds like an insult, but I mean it as a contrast because I’m quite abnormal. Getting along with someone so normal feels dangerous and forbidden, which is exactly as stupid as it reads. And I feel convicted about the whole situation about getting along with people at work… until I hear the guy I absolutely can’t stand talk.

In general, I try to keep my dislikes on a rather low simmer. Keep it on the back-burner. But one of the reasons I hate this guy, is his constant need for the center of attention. He has to be in every conversation, he has to have the “best” joke (which is usually a terrible joke, not even the term “dad joke” describes it properly), and he thinks he’s an authority on some subjects.

Now, I don’t know whether or not he actually can speak with any authority on certain subjects because he tries to speak with authority about all subjects.

He’s so fucking irritating he almost made me start hating the Sister Act movies.

I would rather have salmonella again than have a conversation with him.


Sleepy-Eyed John February 25, 2023

Glad to hear you're recovered!

KissOfLife! March 07, 2023

I'm interested in how someone else can make you hate the Sister Act movies! He sounds like everyone else hates him as much as you do. Glad the new teacher is cool. That's just natural human chemistry I suppose. I certainly don't get along well with most people either.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.