Seven More Days in Hello

  • Feb. 24, 2023, 6:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

One week sober.

My continued goal is to make it to 41 with a year under my belt. Baby steps. Right now, let’s just make it through the night.


Chaz February 24, 2023

Not to encourage drinking, but I found an even better milestone to reach is to make it a year with only drinking 7 or so times.

A lot of times when I used to break the streaks I would feel like a failure and would take it as a sign to go on a bender. Then one day I realized that I don’t have to feel guilty for drinking. It’s the benders I need to avoid. That lifted a lot of pressure and guilt from me and ever since I only drink once every month or two and I never allow myself to feel guilty about it.

It was hard work to change old habits and I know some people are more prone to addiction than others and might not be able to do it that way, but it’s liberating not to feel guilty and ashamed every time I wanna have a drink.

J.E. Chaz ⋅ February 25, 2023

I can't. A few drinks turns into a week long bender.

Sleepy-Eyed John February 25, 2023

Congrats!

J.E. Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ February 25, 2023

Thanks dude!

Sleepy-Eyed John J.E. ⋅ February 25, 2023

Did you check out that book I mentioned?

J.E. Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ February 25, 2023

Yeah I did. I have to order it.

Sleepy-Eyed John J.E. ⋅ February 25, 2023

:)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.