Day 1 Overview in These Foolish Things

  • Feb. 16, 2023, 5:12 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Whew! Day 1 at The Cutie Pie Company was fast and furious, as I knew it would be. I literally had back to back to back to back meetings - no time to really even go to the bathroom.

And poor Martini was with me almost the whole time! The small “leadership” team took me to lunch and one of the girls watched her during lunch, but the rest of the time, she either sat in my lap or slept in her carrier. Not sure how that’s gonna work with her at the office, but I have to make it work for a little while until she can get that second canine influenza vaccine and I can get her in daycare.

It’s going to be a LOT and I have sooooo much to learn, but again, we all knew this. I can’t even explain what happened because it was all a blur - mostly the lead designer filling me in on the team (I have four direct reports and one of them is a lead who’s been with the company several years, thank goodness!). It’s a small but mighty company in a small and buzzing office. There will be no time for entries at this place, and I think that’s a good thing. I will be busy every minute!

I left the office decently deflated - and most people were still in the office when I left at nearly 6pm (!), but the interesting thing was that I actually already got paid for my first day of work. Weird, right? I thought that the 15th was the first day of the pay period (and I’m sure that everyone else was thinking that as well) but it was actually the last day of the pay period and so I got a paycheck deposited into my bank account yesterday! I made more yesterday than I made working at the retail store for a whole week and a half!! And that was energizing to me and made me think about why I’m there and what I’m there to do.

So. Time to get up and do a little workout and some good stretches. Then I’ll pack my lunch. I have a long day ahead of me!

Happy Day 2 to me,
GS


sparklespeterson February 16, 2023

Congrats on your first day:)

Athena February 16, 2023

So excited for you.

Complicated Disaster February 16, 2023

Whoooop! Great stuff! I hope Martini doesn't get too used to the office!! xx

ninakir88 February 16, 2023

glad it went well! u deserve it!

kansasgirl February 16, 2023

Congratulations! All your hard work has paid off.

bobbi01 February 16, 2023

No messing around, straight into it! Cool about they pay.

colder February 16, 2023

Nice! You're going to crush it at the CPC!

WhatDreamsMayCome February 17, 2023

Cool!

plushcreep February 18, 2023

Sounds like a great first day. Being too busy for entries is good!

pandora February 19, 2023

Aw, how nice that they let you bring Martini! So sweet. I really like being busy at work, personally - the days fly by and there's never time to get bored!

sudare February 19, 2023

Good news!

Serin February 22, 2023

Sounds like a great start.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.