February Sun in anticlimatic

  • Feb. 14, 2023, 9 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

What a beautiful Valentines Day. The glorious sun returns. I’m getting used to these warmer winters…though they are causing me to enjoy work maybe a bit too much for one’s own good. I have never been more fulfilled in any other job, including even the cushy job I had processing film and restoring people’s old photos. I still had a boss there (incompetent, typically), and there were a good number of days I felt I was just grinding out the clock. It’s also better than my years working the night shift at the old haunted hotel, when all I had to do was watch movies and fix myself random meals from the various kitchens. Again, I still had a boss, and I always had this lingering sense that I was completely disposable- that a monkey could do it, and I couldn’t really feel secure in it. Also the pay was trash.

Now I wake up with the sun, no alarm. Enjoy some coffee and a little morning read. Shower up, gear up, and hit the road. I always have at least a 20 minute commute, and ill usually stop for some kind of breakfast and sometimes more coffee on the way. I get blasted out on reefer and either listen to music or audiobooks or news. I have no boss, only customers- who I barely ever have to talk to, and when I do they are either worshipping the ground I walk on, giving me money, or setting me up with the next project. The work has now gotten to the point that I’ve done some variation on just about everything I end up doing, though it’s always something different and never exactly the same thing twice. I quit working when I feel like it, or whenever it seems like a good time, and I make a list of my accomplishments to bill out later. I can’t get over how much fun I’m having with it. And no one would ever suspect it.

Been watching reruns of The Office lately, and it’s so surreal to see a semi-normal looking world on full display. And it wasn’t that long ago! A number of odd memories have hit me recently: the smell of my second girlfriend’s trailer, and a lot of the fuzzy peripheral feelings from the era of my 17th year (a very good year). I associate that time with rain on window panes for some reason. I think it was all the time we spent making out in parked cars. Still, that wet sound, and wet feel to the air…I could live forever in that smell.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.