I'm not dead. (As of this writing, anyway.) in The Big, Blue House, year one.

  • Jan. 11, 2023, 1:22 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

And I have no explanation for my disappearance. I just get too wrapped up in one thing to do others, and everything takes me ages longer than it does “normal” people, and that’s that.

I’ve been working on improving my bedroom to make it a more comfortable space to paint in, and playing GW2 with Don, and spending an hour or so a day on Reddit in the various autism and Asperger’s subreddits. It’s nice having a community that ‘gets’ me.

I’ve also discovered that I’m gluten intolerant, and cutting it out of my diet has radically improved my arthritis and my brain fog. There were lots of days when I was either in too much pain, or too “out of it” to do whatever it was that I wanted to do.

Then I noticed that I was having flatulence when I hadn’t eaten anything that typically causes it. Long story short I feel a LOT better now. So yay for that.

I’ll try to catch up with the handful of people here who’ve consistently been nice to me.


Deleted user January 11, 2023

You ok. I admire someone that can admit they fart. Some folks spend waaaaay too much time on here IMO blathering about their mundanities. But that is what journals are for. ;-)

Asenath Waite Deleted user ⋅ January 24, 2023

Biology is unavoidable.

Mr. Mofo January 11, 2023

You can literally find ANYTHING on reddit.

Asenath Waite Mr. Mofo ⋅ January 24, 2023

This is absolutely true.

The coconut, and the guy with two broken arms comes to mind.

Deleted user January 11, 2023

I see you as a normal person. We all have things that bother us and irritate certain moments. both you and I have mental happenings that aren't our fault but that doesn't mean you are not normal. You are a person no matter what and remember normal in my eyes.

Asenath Waite Deleted user ⋅ January 24, 2023

You're kind, and I genuinely appreciate that. But I've been bullied and called names and ostracized and left out and ignored my whole life. I went forty two years thinking that I was normal, and that I was the stupidest, slowest, clumsiest, person in the world. I've been fired from more than two dozen jobs, dumped by six boyfriends, and left out of more parties than I can remember. People just generally don't want me around, and I always thought it was my fault, because I could never quite be good enough.

Finding out that I'm autistic took me from being a moron that everyone hated for no reason that I could see, - to being an undiagnosed aspie. Overnight I was no longer "flighty" "stupid" "slow" "weird" etc. I am autistic. I am not a broken neurotypical, I am a normal aspie.

Holding myself to the standards of being "normal" was the worst part of my life. I can't do it, and I'll fail every time. It's not what I am. It nearly killed me trying to be.

You're such a sweet person, but I'm not "normal". :D

Sleepy-Eyed John January 11, 2023

I have been mopey

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.