Left over from the shortest day of the year: in These titles mean nothing.

  • Jan. 8, 2023, 9:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

And meanwhile we have gone on living,
Living and partly living,
Picking together the pieces,
Gathering faggots at nightfall,
Building a partial shelter,
For sleeping and eating and drinking and laughter.
ATTRIBUTION: T.S. (Thomas Stearns) Eliot (1888–1965), Anglo-American poet, critic. The Chorus of Women of Canterbury, in Murder in the Cathedral, pt. 1 (1935).

I found this while my husband was dying.

I think it helped a little.


WhatDreamsMayCome January 09, 2023

I like it.
I'm glad you found it helpful.

NorthernSeeker January 09, 2023

Interesting poem...not sentimental which is a big point in its favour.

A Pedestrian Wandering January 09, 2023

When I have lost people I love I know I go on living, but maybe just partly living.

noko January 11, 2023

There is something that fills me with wonder to think of you in Iowa reading an Eliot poem to your ill husband and thinking about it now. The Eliot family was a big deal here. His brother was the first major minister at my Unitarian church and he was involved in many remarkable charities.

Serin January 17, 2023

The going on living is hard sometimes.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.