Re-Entry in 2023

  • Jan. 8, 2023, 12:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

After taking some time away from “life “and allowing myself a chance to begin to discover who I am at this point in time, I’m ready to re-enter the orbit of daily living. I’ve done significant work on myself- work that has been a long time coming. I’ve really focused on the concept of “differentiation of self” and I’ve tried to strengthen my under-developed self these last few months. How much of what I think about myself and the world at large is the product of my personal values, experiences, and cognition, and how much of it is me being who I think I “should” be? Who am I? What matters to me? Do I people-please and play the roles assigned to me long ago or do I dig deeper and discover the person I really am?

It’s so easy in this life to just ride the currents of popular opinion and fall into the same old familiar patterns day after day. As a conflict-averse person, I’ve swallowed a lot of my individuality and internalized a lot of faulty messaging out of fear of being someone that doesn’t fit neatly within the labels created for me -labels that have done nothing but restrict me and make me feel like a non-person.

I”m finally at an age and place in my life that what matters to me is self-integrity. Am I attempting to live true to what I perceive as my essential self? As I move forward, I hope that the anxious voice that is constantly evaluating and assessing whether I am doing the “right” thing dissipates and I can learn to be content with being “me”- with full awareness and acceptance that the definition of “me” is ever-evolving and multi-dimensional.


Last updated January 08, 2023


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.