Family, dreams in Journal

  • Dec. 27, 2022, 3:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Time with the ex army aunt and her family was actually quite nice.
DH echoed my own personal feelings on the way home. He told me how he was pleasantly shocked at uncle E’s (aunts husband) self awareness, empathy, and willingness to be on his side. It was an unfortunate turn of events that, while we were at grandma’s house visiting with aunt and uncle, that FIL asked to come over to visit, and did. Since DH and E were outside shooting guns, I was just there with my 2 kids, the aunt, their 2 kids, and gma. FIL showed up and, to my great relief, was not obnoxious, loud or bullying at all. In fact he sequestered himself in another room with gma and other than sitting around occasionally interacting with the kids, was totally silent or very quiet.
As uncle E and DH returned from shooting, they spotted FILs vehicle in the drive, and uncle E wanted to be clear that he nor aunt M had anything to do with inviting FIL over. Also he offered DH an ear to talk about family anytime and briefly shared some his own struggles with his family.
Aunt M and uncle E are only about 10 years older than us. Their kids aren’t too much older, though, they had them pretty late- I think at 39 and 40. They live several States away though which is why we wanted to get in a visit with them while they’re here. As I was talking with aunt M, and sharing tidbits, I was again and again feeling pleasantly surprised about her strength in striving for self awareness and honesty. She shared how she regrets putting her kids in daycare so young and her decision to homeschool. We chatted about homeschool I - something I’m becoming more passionate about as I learn more about it.
We talked about our similarities in parenting philosophy - I was thrilled to see that they negotiate with their kids, although they still use punishment and also a sort of superior condescending attitude, it’s at least not violent.
Moreover, the prevailing habit of parental neglect and throwing kids into daycare or school to bond with their most traumatized peers and the authoritarian State is being rejected, I think.
Aunt M mentioned coming back for several weeks to months this summer. Which, might be a preview of their desire to move back up here permanently. That might be nice, especially after learning that they have homeschool and the non aggression part of peaceful parenting in common with us. We do not meet many families that meet our criteria. Other stuff doesn’t matter so much, as long as the basics are there.

Last night, I had a disturbing dream. I’m not really sure where to start with it. I might enter it in my dreams book.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.