Merry Christmas and a snotty new year in Life

  • Dec. 21, 2022, 12:08 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Anytime with worse than getting sick right before Xmas when you’ve been looking forward to it for months?

Well, yes, last Christmas without being pregnant after my pregnancy loss.

But still, pretty lame.

Our work doesn’t give us any kind of gift or bonus, just a holiday party “catered” by the catering company that makes the crappy kid food. But, still bummed I will probably miss it, but not willing to put anyone else in jeopardy of being sick for Christmas! So I am remote today and i’m guessing tomorrow, and won’t even get to see my coworkers again and give their presents before christmas. And we lost Christmas to covid in 2020, and I just really want to be with my family.

It’s just a sore throat, no fever, so hoping i’ll be better for Christmas eve and christmas.

Of course, I’m still grateful for a pregnant Christmas after such a struggle. Thanks, baby Finn, for sticking.

My feet are swelling a bit now. And had my first kick that felt like it might have moved the skin (i think it might be early for that, but that’s what it felt like without having my hand there). Def makes me more confident that the flutters I’ve been feeling are the baby.

Sugar measuring still going well. Last night I had a big olive garden salad, some soup (with noodles)- not a lot but a little bit), and then fetuccine alfredo with chicken, and was still under 100 (i’m allowed to go up to 120). What a win. I’ll take it!

Lots to do for Christmas still. We went to see the lights last weekend and ended up in traffic to get in, like 3 blocks and it took an hour and a half. Chris was already grumpy about having to do his familys christmas earlier (it was fine though, it was really comfortable and people were nicer to me haha), and he was tantruming about the traffic and how much he hated the whole thing. Even afterwards he was bitching about it again and i told him “this is how you’re going to ruin this relationship” and he got mad that i said it in front of the little one. Well don’t freaking hammer at me all day about how miserable you are when i’m trying to make it nice for everyone (insert dorinda medley quote here lol). i apologized the next day and he got quiet and looked miserable for a while so i guess he felt bad about his grumpy behavior. I’m still a bit disappointed in myself for saying that- I try really hard not to say the low blow, mean thing, that you can never take back. No one is perfect but I just don’t like dirty fighting.

Back to wedded bliss since though :)


DE_KentuckyGirl December 21, 2022

I haaaaate going to the light events for the very reason of long lines. Noooo thank you!

DE_nobelle DE_KentuckyGirl ⋅ December 21, 2022

he's gone twice before and it hasn't been that bad but he no longer remembers that haha. this was the weekend before xmas rush... we were supposed to go two weeks earlier and the kid was sick her whole birthday weekend :(

anyway he's refusing to go to the same one again so i have to find something new next year. ugh!

Empire of Lights December 22, 2022

Oh no! So sorry you're sick. I hope you feel better quickly so you can still celebrate and enjoy Christmas.

DE_nobelle Empire of Lights ⋅ December 22, 2022

Its really soooo low level sick so im hoping it passes by tomorrow!! Thank you!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.