Glowing in Journal

  • Dec. 21, 2022, 10:18 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Says DH. “What?” I look up from staring dreamily at my baby.
“You’re glowing! You look really nice today.” DH repeated.
Huh.
At first I feel a bit of warmth - like a genuine reaction to a kind compliment. Then I start to ask why is he saying that? And do I? What have I done that would elicit that comment?

Perusing mostly women’s forums is depressing. I love the sensible women from farming/homestead forums, but there are precious little conversations about raising babies on those. The baby forums are … Depressing. The average woman today is insane. How did the charicature of feminine demonic darkness Blanche DuBois become the norm of feminine expression today? Well. That’s a leading question to be fair.
Such comments as “you’re insensitive to how [this fact] makes others feel excluded/judged/shamed!” Permeate these forums. It’s tragic if it weren’t laughably absurd. So these women think it’s virtuous to shame/judge/exclude other women in the name of preventing possible (not actual) shaming/judging/excluding. It is… Beyond the utter stupidity of it, boring.
AND. There are these hilarious posts about commiserating with the plight of obese or overweight people who… Are all overweight and suffering health problems not caused by being overweight, or preventable lifestyle choices, but by the society they live in which affors them the very ability to be overweight in the first place. Maybe I am low on sympathy, but I leave laugh emojis on these. Because, at least the few people who check out the post to see how insane those people are can take comfort in knowing that not everyone is insane. And, no… I’m not low on sympathy. The whole post is a virtue signal and a shaming tactic to anyonedaring to have an opionion about how one becomes overweight. I am sympathetic, therefore, to the victims of such passive aggressive tactics.

Christmas break starts tomorrow. Ah, there were at least 3 posts as well about the angst of public school parents seeing any hint of Christmas decor or reference in their kids school. Not a baby Jesus or a nativity scene, no. Just imagea of or actual tree, ornaments, or stockings. Idk why I think this is beyond petty. I grew up Christian and am not anymore. I am atheist. But I don’t begrudge the spirit of Christmas, or really any holiday that represents the best for humanity. I actually love these rituals, and maybe the Christian ones more just because they have that childhood reminiscent quality.
Anywho, DHs ain’t wants to come visit (different aunt from either of the other 2 visits). She’s the aunt who was in the army for 20 years and flew black hawk helicopters. She seems to be , besides the youngest uncle, the most well adjusted, educated and open of all DHs relatives. Which, having been the army for that long… Isn’t saying a lot of great things about the people in his family.
And I must include for context that she married and had kids with a green beret.
Idc what ho you are, voluntarily chosing a profession in which you kill people, or help kill people, or see people being killed, is irredeemably damaging to your soul. But, also choosing to marry such a person and halve kids with them… Again. It gives me dread for the future.
I feel a sort of morbid curiosity about their kids. The older one is 8, I think… So her personality should be well over 90% what it will be.


woman in the moon December 21, 2022

Well. I agree with you, perhaps, a little.
I think we are encouraging too many people to be too fat.
I'm not sure if that's what you said or not.
I just watched a movie = Riding in Cars With Boys on youtube. And I just read about the author of the memoir on which the movie was based. I'm from the era in the movie and I saw myself and others in it.
This is sort of the same thing. https://brevitymag.com/nonfiction/meanness/

Bless you, good luck.... to me too.

Miss Chiffs Manager woman in the moon ⋅ December 21, 2022

Thank you for sharing,
To be clear I don't think there is 100% self responsibility nor 100% environmental. They are both playing roles alongside genetics, psychology, etc. It's the insistence that there is zero self responsibility that is so patently ridiculous, and then the attitude that if one does not both accept and sympathize with this assertion one is somehow a bigot or fat-phobic.

valancy December 22, 2022

Haha, I LOVED your comments on virtue signaling and personal responsibility. We are all looking for ways to be offended and absolutely uninterested in any solution that could involve a degree of discomfort.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.