Expectations in Journal

  • Dec. 17, 2022, 5:41 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve realized that our toddler, W, isn’t like the other kids some time ago. But I hadn’t connectedwhy until maybe this morning.
I mean, I know why- peaceful parenting. But more specifically, it’s because we don’t have expectations.
I don’t mean reasonable, personal, appropriate expectations. Those we have. I mean arbitrary expectations. These are diverse and, it seems, ubiquitous in the world as I observe it.
And, I will clarify that we are not perfectly expectation-less. But, that is the ideal that we strive for.
The main thing recently of course is that W just became a big brother. Everyone asks how he’s handling it, if he’s jealous, acting out, etc. And I say, no. They’re usually surprised and comment about the negative behaviors of older jealous siblings.
I mean, I don’t mind taking about it. But it’s just almost cliche, now, to hear every single person being it up. Also, I guess it is a little bit annoying. Because I was reading sibling books months ago and would have loved to discuss it, then. Part of me wonders why people think it’s okay to just run blindly into THE most important job they’ll ever have-parenting- without any preparation. It’s terrible. The long term consequences on their kids is horrible. And likely not recoverable.
Anyways. Yes, I researched and read books. I wrote letters to my brother. I think I actually sent one of them. I worked on my inner relationships with my brother, mother, father, etc. I reflected on and learned from that experience and talked to DH about his experiences with his brother. And you know what? Every single time, THE PARENTS are always responsible for the sibling relationship.
Which is really empowering.

Anywho, I don’t expect W to feel any certain way about his sister. I don’t expect any help from him, or even any attention. I sort of expect some basic respect of her as a person, and it’s more my job to establish that we do respect her preferences. So far, that has meant simply not physically being in the same space she is, lol. Pretty simple and totally appropriate for a 2 year old, imo.
I feel I can trust him because I know that he is capable of, understands the principle, and agrees with it. The fact that he doesn’t like it when others invade his space or don’t respect him, is acceptance that he should uphold that rule in order to demand it from others. Universalize it, baby. He gets it. Ofc he needs reminders bc he is 2. But all in all, it’s a small and happy price to pay to keep peace and positivity and leave an opportunity for a deep abiding lifelong love for his sister. Im glad that we never just winged it. Fixing a problem is never as easy as simply preventing it in the first place.


Camdengirl December 17, 2022

CamdenX is a lovely big brother, but I can categorically say they would both be happier as only children and I’d be a better parent if there was only one child to deal with. It is fine when the baby just does whatever they are doing - the conflict arises when you have 2 kids who want/need different things.

Miss Chiffs Manager Camdengirl ⋅ December 17, 2022

That's interesting
Do you believe that each of your kids would be better off overall without a sibling?

I ask because the attitude of negotiating cost benefit makes a tremendous difference in the child's experience. They each may be happier- even happier having a sibling, maybe- if they knew what the benefits are relative to what they are giving up. Focusing only in the conflict is focusing only on the cost, but the opportunity to negotiate is enormous.

Camdengirl Miss Chiffs Manager ⋅ December 17, 2022

Both would benefit from being only children... the benefits of being siblings aren't great for them - they have someone to play with, but they compromise constantly.

Miss Chiffs Manager Camdengirl ⋅ December 17, 2022

Aren't great for them?
There are many objective benefits to having siblings. And, pointing out the future benefits of having a lifelong companion that has been around since the beginning... That is a priceless benefit that so few ever actually reap the benefit of. Mostly, I believe, because parents set their children against each other.
Sure, there are costs and benefits right now, but overall and through the life of both children, having a sibling has immense and deep opportunity for benefit. It's more or less the parents' job to put that in perspective for the children when their attitude is impressionable.
If you as the parent truly believe that there isn't an overall benefit for either of them, that will be their attitude as well since kids just absorb our behavior without criticism.

Cathy December 17, 2022

When it comes to siblings, things are not going to be perfect. There will always be challenges. But things can still be really good.

We loved our son enough that when we were expecting #2, we wondered if we could love another child as much. But of course we did! 😂 And Rob(by) loved his sister Bekka.

Bekka was only 18 months old when Cassie was born, so she didn't immediately give her a lot of attention. But, though she wasn't interested in dolls before that, after Cassie was born, she started carrying around baby dolls a lot and taking care of them.

And Cassie was really clingy before Jessica was born, so having a younger sibling was an adjustment. But she never held that against Jessica. And she was right there "reading' her books from the beginning.

Joy * And * Peace December 19, 2022

I was an only child and new early on that I did not want that for my children. My husband has a brother whom he is not very close with but that is largely his mothers fault. She pitted both boys against one another, where they competed for everything. They are just now able to have a good relationship at 41, and 43 years of age. So with our kids we nipped any talk of oh having all those siblings must be hard, any negative talk. My kids are all very close which we love, amazingly since only a few are blood related. I definitely think it is up to us as parents to make sure that each kid gets their own space, and to help foster those sibling relationships.

Miss Chiffs Manager Joy * And * Peace ⋅ December 19, 2022

Thanks for sharing.
Did you mean that you don't allow other adults/authority figures share their negative viewpoint on having many siblings?
I think it is very important to have people around who are positive and supportive of your choices in family philosophy

Joy * And * Peace Miss Chiffs Manager ⋅ December 19, 2022

Yes, that is what i meant We try to nix any adults or authority figures from filling the kids heads with negative narratives. My MIL was the main culprit for many years, she has seemed to have mellowed out a lot over the last few years so she does not make those type of comments any longer. Yes I agree, it helps that most of our friends have big families so we have fostered a community of like minded individuals.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.