Pregnant eating in Life

  • Dec. 6, 2022, 11:22 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Saw some post about “me gearing up for the holidays, and realizing i can eat whatever i want this year because i’m pregnant” and what a load of shit being a gestational diabetic from 15 weeks is… not even right.

sometimes i sneak my dessert or bad carbs like chips in at night with peanuts after i’ve taken my blood. they did say we could have dessert a few times a week but they didn’t suggest that you do it after your blood prick so i still feel like i’m cheating! and sometimes my dessert is soda because that’s what i really want. haha.

first dr appt today in about a month, and i’ve been really nervous about it. it’s the worst being unsupervised for a month and also having less pregnancy symptoms like… how do i know he’s alive in there? i feel flutters sometimes but not consistently and i don’t know if that’s the baby anyway, they say first time moms aren’t supposed to feel them until 18 weeks or likely later, and i’ve felt them for a few weeks already. i’ll feel better after my appt (or worse if it’s over). and i’m sure everyone has some worries but the roller coaster of having been through infertility and miscarriage just makes it so much worse. in the beginning, i had dread before the ultrasounds because i was sure there’d be no heartbeat, now i’m desperate for the ultrasound but still feel the dread at the same time…

should just be doppler today as long as she can find the heartbeat but that’s good enough confirmation for me.

my 20 week anatomy scan was moved up a week due to the gestational diabetes appt, so that’ll be dec 14th now. another good milestone to cross.

though i don’t have many symptoms right now, the top of my belly started to pop out so something did change a little recently.

pissed at my husband but can only deal with one thing at a time, haha.

wish me luck!


bouchie December 06, 2022

Good luck today!

DE_nobelle bouchie ⋅ December 06, 2022

thank you, baby's hr was fine! my bp was high though wahhhh, but she said it might just be a one off because of my anxiety.

bouchie DE_nobelle ⋅ December 07, 2022

Sometimes they would take mine twice if it was high the first time. I get nervous at the doctor, too! Especially the baby doctor!

DE_nobelle bouchie ⋅ December 07, 2022

yeah they did but i'd say the second time was like 5 minutes after the heart rate was taken of the baby- i'm not sure it had enough time to come down. my bp is typically on the high side of normal so i'm not sure it took much for it to be considered "high" either. hoping this isn't a sign of preeclampsia to come!

bouchie DE_nobelle ⋅ December 07, 2022

Fingers crossed!

lessoff December 06, 2022

oh that stinks you have gestational diabetes!

when i was pregnant nothing tasted good. soda was revulsive.

i hope your anatomy scan goes well! with lydia (she is 7 now) they were trying to measure her bladder and she peed. LOL. they were like um...we will come back to that. but i was high risk (mostly due to my age and then later on due to high amnioic fluid levels) so they would check me out often.

DE_nobelle lessoff ⋅ December 06, 2022

i unfortunately still love soda but my sugar levels have been fine even with drinking occasional soda or iced green tea with a bit of sugar. so i'm doing okay, but it's probably going to get worse as i go along :( my first trimester was rough- felt nauseated all the time (but ended up only throwing up once i was in second tri and started this diabetes management stuff- i'm pretty sure i was keeping myself from puking by eating peanuts all the time lol). it makes so much sense to have an aversion to soda but my aversions to salad, veggies, chicken, beef, etc, just seem to make no sense for keeping a baby healthy!

too funny on peeing on the scan! i talked myself off the ledge earlier since baby's hr was fine today, and when i did my nt ultrasound, the tech was measuring everything like heart and other organs and said everything was fine. i think she was just supposed to check the fluid behind the neck so i think maybe i got an anatomy scan somewhat already and that prob means everything is fine! so hopefully we'll just get to see fun things! i am on track for many growth scans with my age risk, ivf risk and now gestational diabetes risk. so once i get on that grind, i won't have to go so long without scans- should be easier on my anxiety! but also super super wish that i was someone who didn't need all that and all that scanxiety it comes with due to the past!

DE_KentuckyGirl December 07, 2022

I understand the trepidation, but you're moving right along nicely! Your belly popping out is also a sign!

DE_nobelle DE_KentuckyGirl ⋅ December 07, 2022

feel better after yesterday, aside from my bp being high, but i'm thinking it was just anxiety. hopefully!

thanks for understanding :) so glad he's okay in there!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.