Happiness in Journal

  • Nov. 24, 2022, 11:25 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Apparently stay at home moms and housewives are the happiest people around. I’m really starting to understand why.
And I’m beginning to resent the prejudices that my mother, govt schooling, feminism, etc, poured into my formative concepts about feminity. I still vividly recall the deep hatred embedded in the disgusted sneer on my mother’s face when she drove away from some after school activity with us kids in the back- as she spewed toxic rhetoric about all those mom’s who didn’t even work. It of course occurs to me now that my mother was insidiously jealous of those SAHMs, not critical on any rational basis. She hated them because they had what she wanted. Happiness. Or at least, the potential for it.
I am also aggrieved that no one took any interest in my happiness. Yes, I deserved to have people around who cared about me. I deserved to discover what did and didn’t make me happy. The people in my life not only didn’t facilitate that, but they were benefited by my misery, depression, dissociation, self-blame. It’s a tradegy that I am learning in my 30’s what makes me happy. This is something that is learned in childhood.
I experience the meaning in giving away the things that I most desperately needed. Which is to say, raising children empathetically, peacefully, enthusiastically, makes me deeply happy. It’s partly that I see and feel in almost a visceral way, the difference in my son’s experience compared to my own. And to know that I did that. Me. I made people. I did the work. I created his environment as much as his body. The most important part of his environment being his relationships, which is me, and the father I chose for my children. I feel proud. I feel confident that not only is his life infinitely improved over mine, but that I’m not a mere reactionary consequence of a bad childhood. The actions and choices I make are grounded in objective principles and standards. Not arbitrary history nor how I feel about it.


Jodie November 24, 2022

My mom was always home when me and my brother came home from school and I know she was home for the first 5 years of our life then she decided to go work part time and I had always thought she was a stay at home mom. I on the other had was a stay at home mom because I thought I could teach my son better. And as it turns out it looks like I did..that is what others have said.
You are right to be able to stay home is the best for children and their grounding...

woman in the moon November 25, 2022

These are hard decisions. I stayed home until my kids were school aged and then I worked, thinking I needed to contribute to the family's finances. I'm not sure how things would have worked out if I hadn't.
I'm reminded of being at a wedding shower with the other motherinlaw, along with my daugther in law and grandchildren. When someone complimented my motherinlaw on the grandchildren, she said their mother doesn't have to work and it makes a lot of difference. I was sort of proud of my son for having a good enough job to support his family, and proud of the effort my husband and I put into his education.
It's complicated.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.